1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Laptop randomly disconnects from wifi

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Mdnewsom, Mar 15, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Mdnewsom

    Mdnewsom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    I have a HP Pavilion laptop with Windows 10 and when I’m using it at at home, it keeps disconnecting from WiFi and doesn’t give a message. It’ll be working one minute and then my internet says I don’t have a connection. When I’m anywhere else (school, Starbucks,etc) my laptop stays connected to the WiFi. My phone is the only other thing using WiFi at the same time and it stays connected to WiFi when my laptop won’t. I don’t know if it’s my laptop that’s messed up or not because anywhere else it stays connected to the internet.
     
  2. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    10,847
    Which version of Windows 10 please, type in 'winver' to find out.

    Did you try updating the network drivers in Device Manager ?
     
  3. Mdnewsom

    Mdnewsom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Windows version 1803. I don’t see a network driver in Device Manager. I only see a disk driver or network adapters.
     
  4. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    10,847
    Network Adapter it is. Expand that, and you will see separate drivers for Ethernet and Wi-Fi. Right click on each and choose Update.
     
  5. Mdnewsom

    Mdnewsom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Im not sure which ones to pick.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. dlipman

    dlipman

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    373
    First Name:
    David
    • How far away are you from the WiFi Router ?
    • What is the Make and Model of the Router ?
    • What kind of Internet do you get ? ( Example: cable, DSL, FTTP, etc )
     
  7. Mdnewsom

    Mdnewsom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    I’m like maybe 10 feet from the router. Umm it’s an Arris DG3270. I’m pretty sure it’s cable.
     
  8. dlipman

    dlipman

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    373
    First Name:
    David
    Yes, the ARRIS DG3270 is a DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem+Router.

    How long have you had it and how long have you experienced the problem ?

    10 feet line of sight or are there any obstructions such as a wall ?
     
  9. Mdnewsom

    Mdnewsom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    I’ve had the router since last August and I got my laptop in December. It’s done this since I got my laptop. 10 feet line of sight. I just don’t get why it only does it when I’m at home.
     
  10. dlipman

    dlipman

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    373
    First Name:
    David
  11. Mdnewsom

    Mdnewsom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    I don’t know if this is what you’re looking for or not.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    10,847
    Update the ReakTek RTL8021CE driver, thats the Wi-Fi one.
     
  13. Mdnewsom

    Mdnewsom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    I updated it. Should this fix it?
     
  14. dlipman

    dlipman

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    373
    First Name:
    David
    The BASIC settings are fine.

    Under the ADVANCED settings...

    BG Protection: Enable it
    Becaon Interval: try 50 and see if that helps. If not, try 200.
    To the Right is a "?" which indicates a Help page. if 50 or 200 do not help, look at what the maximum value is and try the Max value.
    Channel Bandwidth: set to 20MHz
     
  15. dlipman

    dlipman

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    373
    First Name:
    David
    I agree that going to the Laptop's Manufacturer's Web site and obtaining g the latest Realtek RTL8021CE software may help.

    First, try adjusting the ARRIS Wireless settings.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1224507

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice