1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Laptop rebooting randomly when connected to internet via Ethernet cable

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by theon, Feb 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. theon

    theon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    i've ruled out over-heating and drivers are all up to date with no conflicts, apart from that annoying microsoft 6to4 driver that always shows up as a problem

    virus/worms/spyware seem clean too, any suggestions?
     
  2. theon

    theon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    im on vista sp1 btw
     
  3. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Try this and then the error will stay up and it may mention something that will narrow it down


    How to turn off Automatically Restart

    Click Start then right click My Computer choose Properties
    Then Advanced tab
    Under Startup & Recovery click Settings
    Under System failure uncheck Automatically Restart
    Click OK.

    Now the Error message should stay up so you can read it.
     
  4. theon

    theon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Problem signature
    Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
    OS Version: 6.0.6001.2.1.0.768.3
    Locale ID: 18441

    Files that help describe the problem (some files may no longer be available)
    Mini021910-05.dmp
    sysdata.xml
    Version.txt

    View a temporary copy of these files
    Warning: If a virus or other security threat caused the problem, opening a copy of the files could harm your computer.


    Extra information about the problem
    BCCode: d1
    BCP1: 0000001C
    BCP2: 00000002
    BCP3: 00000000
    BCP4: 8F2FE79F
    OS Version: 6_0_6001
    Service Pack: 1_0
    Product: 768_1

    it's always the same hardware id in the error message, no idea what it is though
     
  5. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    theon:
    Hello & welcome to TG forum.

    Please describe yourself as beginning, intermediate or advanced computer user.

    computer >C: > windows > minidumps
    set folder view to details. Be sure "date created" is listed.
    Copy the 3 most recent minidumps to a folder. Zip the folder.
    Return here. Go advanced. Manage attachments.
    Attach the zipped mini dumps. We'll examine them.

    RF123
     
  6. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    Verify this, please.

    RIGHT click "computer" > properties > advanced system settings
    startup & recovery options "> "advanced" tab > "settings" button

    The file location should read %systemroot%\minidump

    minidump is preferred.

    RF123
     
  7. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    brand, model, model # of lappy.

    Providing product information page will be nice.
    :)

    Does the lappy have a PCMCIA slot?

    RF123
     
  8. theon

    theon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    thanks for your replies,
    i'll get right on it ASAP, laptop's at home and i'm at work

    umm my computer background, i'm in my 2nd year of comp engineering so i guess i'd say intermediate, not good with windows :mad:
     
  9. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
  10. theon

    theon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    laptop is an acer aspire 4736z, yea it has a pcmcia slot that's unused
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    In all cases in those 3 minidumps the Probably caused by : L1E60x86.sys ( I think it is Ethernet Controller is a driver file from company Atheros)
     
  12. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    As its a lappy,you may now consider it for hardware check
    Acer's Have lOOSE Internal wiring.
    Check the mother board
     
  13. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    After Megabite's analysis of your minidump files, I suggest that you update your ethernet drivers.

    You could purchase a PCMCIA card that has an ethernet port, uninstall the lappy's integrated / built in ethernet drivers, reboot; go into BIOS / setup & disable the onboard / integrated ethernet [ might be called network ]; boot to Windows, shut down. Read the installation documentation for the PCMCIA card [ sometimes the drivers need to be installed BEFORE the hardware is installed ].

    RF123
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/904133

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice