1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Laptop recommendation needed

Discussion in 'Tech Tips and Reviews' started by cammi, Mar 31, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cammi

cammi Thread Starter

I need a recommendation for a laptop that isn't a mac. I will be using the laptop as a 2nd computer and will take it with me travelling. It also needs to be fast/great with graphics and LCD, as I am studying web & graphic design.

What would you recommend for me?

I was thinking of buying the Lenovo T61P but only the T61 is available in Australia and Malaysia. But I also read that the LCD sucked (which sucks, cos I need a good screen for my work). :mad:

2. DoubleHelix

DoubleHelix Banned

Lenovos are geared toward business users, not graphic design. Since that's the area most heavily saturated with Macs, you might want to reconsider the option. If a Mac absolutely isn't an option, look to the high-end offerings by HP and Dell.

3. cammi

cammi Thread Starter

I prefer non-macs in general. Also, in my class we do have Mac users and they have had a lot of trouble using the Adobe programs (dreamweaver etc) on their computers... every week they have some random problem with the progs. So I am beginning to think the thought that Macs are better for graphics is indeed a fallacy.

I currently own a Compaq Presario V4000 which is getting a bit old now... I love it, it was pretty cheap too when I got it a few years back. Maybe if it was a bit lighter, and I could upgrade it for more RAM and Space that would be good.

I wouldn't touch Acer or Dell with a stick. Or Gateway (not that we have those shops here now anyway...). I am primarily a IT person, just delving into design now.

4. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator