1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Laptop shuts off after plugging in charger

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Govindaraju, Jun 17, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Govindaraju

    Govindaraju Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    I have IBM 1871PA2 thinkpad laptop. I have issues that it shuts off few minutes after plugging in the charger or sometimes it just freezes and I cannot do any thing. All I have to do to get back into laptop is force restart. I tried running on AC power without battery. Same issue. Need assistance.
     
  2. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,240
    First Name:
    Cody
    If you leave the laptop alone (not plugged in, battery connected), does the same thing happen?

    Or does this only happen when you connect the charger?
     
  3. Govindaraju

    Govindaraju Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    It happens only when the charger is connected. It works fine if no charger is plugged in.
     
  4. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,240
    First Name:
    Cody
    Does this happen while in Safe Mode?

    ----------

    Safe Mode
    • While the computer is turning on, tap F8 repeatedly until a black screen with white text appears.
    • Using your arrow keys highlight the option Safe Mode and hit Enter.
     
  5. Govindaraju

    Govindaraju Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    I tried working in safe mode with charger connected today; it didn't switch off though I worked around 45 minutes.
     
  6. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    Does it work plugged in without the battery in it?
    It should, and it won't do any harm.
     
  7. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,240
    First Name:
    Cody
    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Try running it for a longer amount of time when you get the chance. Either way though, this is good news.

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    While in Windows normally please do the following.

    SFC /Scannow
    • Press and hold the Windows button + R on your keyboard.
    • In the Run box, type CMD and hit Enter.
    • In the Command Prompt, type SFC /SCANNOW and hit Enter.
    • Let me know the results of this process in your next post.
    --------------------------------------------------------------

    I do want to be transparent with you -- I have no idea what is causing this problem.

    The fact that it seems to be working in Safe Mode but not while in Windows normally usually points to a software problem, but I have no clue what it could be.
     
  8. Govindaraju

    Govindaraju Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    While running sfc scan, Windows File Protection dialogue box appears with a message "Files that are required for windows to run properly must be copied to the DLL Cache" and asking to insert windows XP CD.
     
  9. Govindaraju

    Govindaraju Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    No, same issue without battery alsp
     
  10. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,240
    First Name:
    Cody
    I wasn't aware you were running Windows XP.

    Windows Vista and up there are copies of the Windows OS files stored separately on the harddrive from which sfc /scannow copies.
     
  11. Govindaraju

    Govindaraju Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    so what next?
     
  12. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,240
    First Name:
    Cody
    You can try the following, but like I said, I really don't know what is causing the issue here.

    As much as I hate doing it, we're just trying a "shotgun" approach.

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Windows Repair (All in One)

    • Disable your AntiVirus and AntiSpyware applications, usually via a right click on the System Tray icon. They may otherwise interfere with our tools. (Click on this link to see a list of programs that should be disabled. The list is not all inclusive.)
    • Download Windows Repair (All in One) and save it to your desktop
    • Double click the icon and select Run
    • Continually click Next, then Finish
    • Note: If you are unable to complete one of the steps simply continue on with the next step
    • Go to Step 2 and allow it to run See if Check Disk is Needed by clicking on the Check button:
    • If your see Errors Found On The Drive! Check Disk Is Needed click Do It in the Check Disk (If Needed) box
    • Once that is done then go to Step 3 and click Do It under System File Check
    • Go to Step 4 and click Create under System Restore, then Backup under Registry Backup
    • Go to Start Repairs tab and click Start button.
    • Please make sure the following items are checked
    Reset Registry Permissions
    Reset File Permissions (1)
    Register System Files
    Repair WMI
    Repair Windows Firewall
    Repair Internet Explorer
    Remove Policies Set By Infections
    Repair Missing Start Menu Icons Removed By Infections
    Repair Icons
    Remove Temp Files
    Unhide Non System Files (1)
    Repair Windows Sidebar/Gadgets
    Repair MSI (Windows Installer)
    Repair .lnk (Shortcuts) File Association
    Repair Windows Safe Mode
    Restore Important Windows Services
    Set Windows Services To Default Startup
    • Click on box next to the Restart/Shutdown System when Finished
    • Click on Restart System
    • Click on Start
    • Your computer will reboot upon completion
    • Using Windows Explorer navigate to the following file
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Tweaking.com\Windows Repair (All in One)\Logs
    • Copy and paste the contents of the log in your reply
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1128024

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice