1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Laptop suddenly says connected with limited access to wifi

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Heatherfly, Nov 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Heatherfly

    Heatherfly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    I use a laptop and recently the wifi has stopped working for me. I can still connect completely but it says with "limited access," which results in me being unable to access the internet at all. The rest of the computers in the house work fine on the wifi and I double-checked the securtiy settings (WAP2 and all that) and it seems fine. What can I do? Tethering to my phone allows me to get on the internet and the computer connects successfully, but no websites will load whatsoever.
     
  2. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Cody Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,020
    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or Windows 7

    Start, All Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands, each followed by the Enter key:

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults: netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults: netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  3. Heatherfly

    Heatherfly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Okay, I did this. There was no change to the issue.
     
  4. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Cody Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,020
    Click Start.

    In the search bar type devmgmt.msc and hit Enter.

    Click the + next to the pane Network Adapters so it expands, showing all installed hardware.

    Take a screenshot of this window and attach the file in your next post.

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.

    If you have no internet connection on the problem PC, transferring the screenshot via flashdrive or CD to a working computer is possible. If this is not practical for you, a detailed listing of the requested information will suffice, along with reports of any ! ? or X's next to the entries.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Also, what is the make, model, and running operating system of the problem PC?
     
  5. Heatherfly

    Heatherfly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Okay, here it is:

    [​IMG]
     
  6. jackryan130

    jackryan130

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    what OS did you have in your machine?
     
  7. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Cody Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,020
    Is the laptop able to connect in Safe Mode With Networking?

    How to Access Safe Mode With Networking

    While the computer is turning on, tap F8 repeatedly until a black screen with white text appears. Using your arrow keys highlight the option Safe Mode With Networking and hit Enter.

    Note: If you're using Windows XP, connect to your modem or router with an Ethernet cable, then follow these directions.
     
  8. Heatherfly

    Heatherfly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    I tried using Safe Mode with Networking and it still didn't work. I'm running Windows Vista.
     
  9. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Cody Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,020
    How to Re-seat a Laptop's Network Adapter

    Turn off the computer and unplug everything including the battery.

    Look on the bottom for a small 'access door' that has 1 or 2 screws. Remove it carefully. It will be for either RAM or Wireless. You can recognize the wireless card because it has 2 wires attached to it (usually 1 black 1 white) whereas RAM is just 2 rectangular boards.

    Carefully press the release clips on either side and it will pop up.

    Gently pull it back slightly and press it back into the connector evenly.

    Press it back into place (reverse of how it popped out) and replace the access door.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1027652