1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Laptop/tv interface having trouble. I need some help.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jimflint1, Jun 26, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jimflint1

jimflint1 Thread Starter

I'm running my wife's Lenovo laptop, which has been connected to an LG tv (at least 10 years old) for a couple of years with no trouble. The laptop is running Windows 10, which I am not very good at. I have Windows 7 on my PC, which is what I mostly use.
    Anyway she has Avast Pro Antivirus on hers and the user interface keeps coming on the screen too large, meaning you can't see the Settings tab at the bottom, nor can you see the X to close the program if you don't want to run it. I've been having to get into Task Manager to close it.
    So I wanted to get it working to where she could just X out of Avast if she wanted to and I went into display settings and changed them. The resolution had been set at the recommended setting and the percentage had been set at 125 when 100 was recommended. Or it might have been 100 when 125 was recommended. Anyway I changed first the resolution to a new setting and tried that, didn't like it so I changed it back to its original setting. Then I tried the percentage and didn't like that, so I changed it back to what it was. Then I tried both together and decided to go back to original settings on both. By original, I mean what it was before I began tinkering with it today.