1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Laptop will connect via LAN but not Wireless?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Crusniko2, Jan 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Crusniko2

    Crusniko2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    For over a month now my laptop has been unable to connect to the internet via a wireless connection. It will connect to the network, but that's as far as it goes. Resetting the router does nothing, and the same can be said for resetting the network wireless adapter. However connecting via the LAN cable to the Router will allow me to connect to the internet and use it normally. (But being stuck attached to the router really sucks). I've even tried deleting the wireless information for my network off the computer and re-inputting it but that didn't solve the problem either.

    I have an HP Pavilion g7 notebook PC that is running Windows 7. I got in it June 2012 brand new and have had nothing but problems with the wireless. It worked fantastic for the first few months and then this happened for the first time. I managed to fix it by myself that time, but I don't remember exactly what I did. It worked alright for the next few months but it was kind of spotty and temperamental. And now it's not working at all. I've tried everything I can think of to fix the problem but nothing has worked so far.

    According to the HP support Assistant my wireless adapter is called "Intel(R) Centrino(R) Wireless-N 1030"

    If you need more information, please let me know!

    I'm currently using my mom's laptop to ask this question, but I can always go to the router and hook up my problem-laptop if you need specific information copied and pasted.

    PS: I took my laptop to another persons house and it was able to connect to and use the internet there?? Good enough for video chat over Skype. Why is it that my laptop can wirelessly connect to other networks but not my own??

    PSS: I don't know if this has anything to do with the wireless problems or not, but I suppose it's worth mentioning. 9/10 times when my computer goes to sleep, it turns off. I'll open it up expecting it to wake back up but it will be off. I'll turn it on and log in and I'll get a pop up message saying something along the lines of "Windows encountered a problem and had to shut down" and when I "diagnose problems" it takes forever supposedly diagnosing but then just randomly closes off and nothing happens??? (I don't know if this could be part of the wireless problem, but just in case it was I thought I would mention it.)
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    whats the exact model of the laptop - we may need to re-install the driver

    sounds like and issue between you PC and the router

    have you tried removing the security
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Remove the wireless security
    Is your wireless security enabled?
    if so - log into the router and remove the wireless security - now see if it will connect.
    if it does - log back into the router and try with the wireless security enabled again

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc

    can we see an ipconfig /all when you have connected to the wireless
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    This should also work for windows 8
    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Crusniko2

    Crusniko2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    I don't know how to find the exact model of the laptop?? When I go into >control panel >system it says:

    Manufacturer: Hewlett-Packard
    Model: HP Pavilion g7 Notebook PC
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2410M CPU @ 2.30GHz 2.30GHz
    RAM: 6GB
    System Type: 64-bit Operating System

    (Does that help at all??)

    I did what you said and disabled the security and tried to connect. My laptop was able to connect to the internet when the security was down, however it was painfully slow in loading anything. When I reactivated the security, my laptop was no longer able to load any pages although it now says that it is connected to both the network and the internet.

    I currently use AVG 2013 (free version) but my laptop also came with something called "Windows Firewall with Advanced Security". I'm not aware of any others.



    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : crusniko2-HP
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : BC-77-37-E6-16-F4
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Wireless-N 1030
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : BC-77-37-E6-16-F3
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f856:605b:5637:8f08%15(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.74(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : January-16-13 11:52:45 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : January-17-13 11:54:51 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 381450039
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-C9-70-9A-2C-27-D7-E9-2E-70

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    75.153.176.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 2C-27-D7-E9-2E-70
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:953c:241e:27b3:5324:c10b(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::241e:27b3:5324:c10b%18(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{C2D3F2AC-66AB-4CCE-979B-609250A82E45}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{E0AE59C1-8F51-49C3-BE9B-6F21CD2854B2}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{B76FD770-5E0D-4834-BA3D-415A809C60EA}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    no, sorry
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/...indModel&cc=ca&dlc=en&docname=c00033108&lc=en

    as we want to update the driver

    lets remove that
    ALSO
    HPs come with a trial of NORTON - so remove that too

    AVG Removal Tools
    http://www.avg.com/gb-en/utilities
    http://www.avg.com/ww-en/utilities

    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2013 http://www.avg.com/tools#tba2 - > on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2012 http://www.avg.com/tools2012.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2011 http://www.avg.com/tools2011.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 9.0 http://www.avg.com/tools9.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 8.5 http://www.avg.com/tools8.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Norton Removal Tool
    I would recommend that you restart the PC and run the removal tool for a second time - I have found instances where the removal tool needs to be run twice to fully remove all traces of norton and symantec from the PC
    https://www-secure.symantec.com/nor...t=Norton Core&pvid=f-core-cur&version=current

    All Versions - The Norton Removal Tool uninstalls all Norton 2010/2009/2008/2007/2006/2005/2004/2003 products, Norton 360 and Norton SystemWorks 12.0 from your computer.
    http://majorgeeks.com/Norton_Removal_Tool_SymNRT_d4749.html

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. Crusniko2

    Crusniko2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Product Number: QC451UA#ABC

    (That's what you needed, right?)

    I removed Norton as soon as I got the computer, as I've had issues with them before and dislike dealing with it. It was actually the very first thing I did when I got the computer.

    As for removing AVG, that's done. Now what?
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    did you use the removal tool?
    if not , please do that

    that product ID comes back with a g7-1175ca - so that ID should be on the label

    http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/ca/e...329744-64354-64354-5082232-5156143.html?dnr=1

    drivers are here
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/...en&cc=ca&dlc=en&sw_lang=&product=5156141#N467

    here is the driver you need for that adapter
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/...dlc=en&lc=en&os=4063&product=5156141&sw_lang=
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1085523

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice