1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Laptop will not connect to the internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Danezzar, Sep 6, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Danezzar

    Danezzar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Hello and thanks in advance for trying to help out.
    As the thread says my laptop is newly unable to connect to any kind of WiFi although the WiFi itself still seems to work for other devices, I also tried connecting to me cell phones data to see if that worked and I ended up with an error message saying that it could not connect. Upon running network diagnostics a very minutes ago it decided that hamachi had no valid IP address, following that I uninstalled hamachi. Now when I run the diagnostic it tells me the only problem is that "a network cable is not properly plugged in our may be broken." My laptop had no problems earlier today and i have never had this problem before either. If there's is any advice to be given is I'd appreciate it.

    More information:
    When connecting to the WiFi it will reach the "checking network requirements" phase before the laptop displays that there are no connection points at all for a few seconds. After that the system seems to reboot slightly and the connections come back and it seems to connect to the internet although it says "can't connect to this network" websites will also try to reload themselves before the connection dies again and the laptop returns to displaying that it is not connected but there are connections available.
     
  2. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,319
    First Name:
    David
    Make and model of this laptop would help?

    You stated that there is a list of connections available, are you selecting the right connection?
    A screen shot of these connections may help us?
     
  3. Danezzar

    Danezzar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    It's an Asus rog gl-552 vw, and I can't take a screenshot of the connections but I assure you there are several there and that I'm choosing the right one.
     
  4. Danezzar

    Danezzar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Well... I can take a screenshot but I wouldn't be able to post it here since, you know, no internet
     
  5. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,319
    First Name:
    David
    You can always transfer the screen shot to the device that you are using to post here?
     
  6. Danezzar

    Danezzar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Will this do?
     

    Attached Files:

  7. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,319
    First Name:
    David
    OK, which of the three is your WiFi connection?
     
  8. Danezzar

    Danezzar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    The top one
     
  9. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,319
    First Name:
    David
    And you type in your password and then what happens?

    You may need to apply "Forget Connection" resave it.
     
  10. Danezzar

    Danezzar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    I've already tried forgetting the connection and re-entering the password. What happens was already described in the original post under "more information"
     
  11. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,319
    First Name:
    David
    Have you checked the devices for any errors?
     
  12. Danezzar

    Danezzar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Other than via the built in trouble shooter? No.
     
  13. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,319
    First Name:
    David
    Well, click the Strat, then type "Device" and you should see Device Manager, if so, click it.
    Do you see a yellow icon next to the WiFi adapter?
    If so the driver needs to reloaded.
     
  14. Danezzar

    Danezzar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Uh, where in the list would the wifi adapter be?
     
  15. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    19,176
    First Name:
    Liz
    Under network adapters.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1216183

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice