1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Laptop will not repair(win 10)

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Mrcobra, Sep 7, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Mrcobra

    Mrcobra Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    890
    Asus laptop windows 10 will not repair. I have tried to reformat entire laptop but that pops up with "Undoing changes" I've tried several different things and nothing is getting me close to showing my desktop. So I figured that I better turn to the pros, so hello guys, where do I begin?

    I might also add that apparently this was a windows 8.1 machine with someone upgrading to windows 10.

    thank you in advance
     
  2. wbennett77

    wbennett77

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Since you were formatting the drive I assume that you don't need any of the files on the drive. If you have a valid product key you can download the latest Windows 10 from Microsoft and create a bootable USB to install Windows 10. When installing if you want a true fresh install delete all existing partitions during the process.
     
  3. dmccoy

    dmccoy

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,489
    First Name:
    Darrin
    Do you have anything on the system that you need to backup? If not then it might be best to perform a new clean install as shown in the following link. If you need to back anything up first let me know.

    How to make a bootable DVD or USB via the media creation tool
    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10

    How to Clean install Windows 10 from USB
    https://www.laptopmag.com/articles/clean-install-windows-10

    When it asks "enter your Product Key", leave blank and continue
    Windows will auto-activate from the key embedded in your system
     
  4. Mrcobra

    Mrcobra Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    890
    I back tracked a little and the laptop is currently running chkdsk /f /r C: it appears to have A LOT of bad clusters.....will post back with results once this finishes.....
     
  5. dmccoy

    dmccoy

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,489
    First Name:
    Darrin
    If any bad clusters then more then likely need to replace hard drive?

    Do the following after it runs

    Click on Start menu
    Type in command
    Right click on Command Prompt in list and select Run as Administrator
    Copy and Paste the following command into the command console
    This will create a file called ChkdskLog.txt on your desktop
    Upload this file to your next reply

    wevtutil qe Application /rd:true /f:text /c:1 /q:*[System[Provider[@Name='Microsoft-Windows-Wininit']]] > "%USERPROFILE%\Desktop\ChkdskLog.txt
     
  6. Mrcobra

    Mrcobra Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    890
    ok here is what I just did: and the results after chkdsk /f /r C

    file data verification completed.
    An unspecified error occured (75736e6a726e6c2e 4fa)
    Failed to transfer logged messages to the event log with status 50.

    Then I went ahead and did this:

    Exit

    Continue

    Preparing auto repair

    Diagnosing your pc

    Failed

    Troubleshoot--Advanced options--command prompt--running bootrec /fixmbr

    operation completed successfully

    running bootrec /fixboot

    access denied
     
  7. Mrcobra

    Mrcobra Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    890
    Unfortunately this is a friends laptop and she told me that she purchased it from HHGregg as a floor model, the nshe had a friend update it to windows 10 from windows 8.1. There is no windows serial # on the bottom of the laptop
     
  8. Mrcobra

    Mrcobra Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    890

    No there is nothing on her that my friend needs to backup. As mentioned above, when she first got this laptop it had windows 8.1 on it I believe she said.
     
  9. Mrcobra

    Mrcobra Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    890
    Did not boot so I can not do this.
     
  10. dmccoy

    dmccoy

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,489
    First Name:
    Darrin
    Please follow these steps from Command line, however you are accessing it. You may have a bad hard drive. You can take a picture and upload if you cannot upload the file.

    Copy and Paste the following commands into the command console
    This will create a file called ChkdskLog.txt on your desktop
    Upload this file to your next reply

    wevtutil qe Application /rd:true /f:text /c:1 /q:*[System[Provider[@Name='Microsoft-Windows-
    Wininit']]] > "%USERPROFILE%\Desktop\ChkdskLog.txt"

    Then enter or copy and paste this command to open the file in notepad
    Start notepad "%USERPROFILE%\Desktop\ChkdskLog.txt"
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2018
  11. dmccoy

    dmccoy

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,489
    First Name:
    Darrin
    How did you run chkdsk then?
     
  12. dmccoy

    dmccoy

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,489
    First Name:
    Darrin
    Download USB Seatools Boot file to your Desktop

    Uncompress the .zip file
    Open the USBbootSetup-SeaToolsBootable folder
    Double click on the SeaToolsBootable_RC_2.1.2.usbBootMaker.exe file
    Follow the steps to create a Bootable USB

    Boot from the Seatools USB and Run the program
    Once it starts it will scan for all drives connected to your computer.
    Select drive you want to test.
    Select Short Test and if it passes then
    Select the Long Generic Test under the Basic Tests menu
    When the test is complete you will see the result under Test Status
    The test will indicate either Pass or Fail.
    Provide the Results in your reply.
     
  13. Mrcobra

    Mrcobra Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    890
    I can't get to the desktop
     
  14. dmccoy

    dmccoy

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,489
    First Name:
    Darrin
    But you can get to command prompt correct? If so then you should be able to enter the commands
     
  15. Mrcobra

    Mrcobra Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    890

    Currently doing this
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1216233

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice