1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Laptop windows 7 can't see desktop windows 10 on homenetwork

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Larry Tonn, Jul 14, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Larry Tonn

    Larry Tonn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Both computers are connected my home network and both have file sharing enabled. My desktop can see my laptop, but my laptop cannot see my desktop computer. My desktop has ethernet and I have a CenturyLink modem.
    I tried one suggestion of enabling net-bios over TCP/IP on both computers, but no change, so I changed it back to default. I used to be able to see my desktop from my laptop, but don't recall if it was prior to getting a new desktop with windows 10 in 2015.
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD A8-7600 Radeon R7, 10 Compute Cores 4C+6G, AMD64 Family 21 Model 48 Stepping 1
    Processor Count: 4 RAM: 7115 Mb
    Graphics Card: AMD Radeon(TM) R7 Graphics, 1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 487 GB (357 GB Free); D: 443 GB (274 GB Free);
    Motherboard: LENOVO, Bantry CRB Antivirus: Windows Defender, Enabled and Updated.

    Desktop Network Properties: Name: Ethernet
    Description: Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical address (MAC): 90:fb:a6:83:4d:f6
    Status: Operational Maximum transmission unit: 1500
    Link speed (Receive/Transmit): 1000/1000 (Mbps)
    DHCP enabled: Yes DHCP servers: 192.168.0.1
    DHCP lease obtained: ‎Saturday, ‎July ‎14, ‎2018 1:33:13 PM
    DHCP lease expires: ‎Sunday, ‎July ‎15, ‎2018 1:33:13 PM
    IPv4 address: 192.168.0.26/24
    IPv6 address: fe80::f8a5:34b9:c66d:aa4e%7/64
    Default gateway: 192.168.0.1 DNS servers: 192.168.0.1, 205.171.2.25
    DNS domain name: Home DNS connection suffix: Home
    DNS search suffix list: Network name: Gabriel Network category: Private
    Connectivity (IPv4/IPv6): Connected to Internet / Connected to unknown network

    Name: Wi-Fi
    Description: Realtek 8821AE Wireless LAN 802.11ac PCI-E NIC
    Physical address (MAC): 18:4f:32:7e:8b:cf
    Status: Not operational Maximum transmission unit: 1500
    IPv4 address: 169.254.233.125/16
    IPv6 address: fe80::2419:cae2:2fd1:e97d%3/64
    DNS servers: 192.168.0.1, 205.171.2.25
    DNS connection suffix: Home Connectivity (IPv4/IPv6): Disconnected

    Name: Local Area Connection* 2
    Description: Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
    Physical address (MAC): 1a:4f:32:7e:8b:cf
    Status: Not operational
    Maximum transmission unit: 1500
    IPv4 address: 169.254.2.91/16
    IPv6 address: fe80::5c7b:2640:c2a6:25b%14/64
    DNS servers: fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1, fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1, fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    Connectivity (IPv4/IPv6): Disconnected

    Name: Local Area Connection* 3
    Description: Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter #3
    Physical address (MAC): 18:4f:32:7e:8b:cf
    Status: Not operational
    Maximum transmission unit: 1500
    IPv4 address: 169.254.92.117/16
    IPv6 address: fe80::a1b5:ff03:2da5:5c75%11/64
    DNS servers: fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1, fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1, fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    Connectivity (IPv4/IPv6): Disconnected
     
  2. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,301
    First Name:
    David
    First, I would make sure that both machines have an account that is of the SAME name and Password. This needs to be an member of the Admin group and fully set up. I use "Zorro" and a common password, this also is my backdoor if I the user accounts(s) get clobbered. I set this up with a Zorro wallpaper so I see right away that I am in that account.

    You say that you have a "CenturyLink modem", is this a combo Modem/router or do you have a separate router?
     
  3. Larry Tonn

    Larry Tonn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Actually, it's an Actiontec 802.11nWiFi Router. SSID CenturyLink8113. Let me know if you want any other info about it.
    As far as the computer names etc., I am the only user on both computers. I named my desktop "Larry'sDesktop15" and my Laptop "Larry's-Laptop".
    I don't use a password for either computer.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,577
    First Name:
    Terry
    Is the laptop connected to the router via Wi-Fi? If so, does your router have the feature where ethernet devices are isolated from wireless devices?
     
  5. Larry Tonn

    Larry Tonn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Yes, the Laptop is connected to the router via Wi-Fi. Not sure about the answer to your 2nd question. I am going to upload a picture of the front of my router.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,577
    First Name:
    Terry
    If you want to find out here are three possible ways to do so.

    a. consult the router manual;
    b. browse through the various router settings;
    c. if renting the router from your ISP ask them.
     
  7. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    19,100
    First Name:
    Liz
  8. Larry Tonn

    Larry Tonn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Dave and Terry,
    I ended up connecting with Microsoft. It had nothing to do with my router.
    Rather it had to do with my version of Windows 10 not having a homegroup feature. It was removed.
    The Microsoft tech changed the permissions to everyone in the security tab/Advanced in users folder properties.
    Problem now solved.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1212944

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice