laptop wireless card says connected but not receiving packets

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bluzdude9999

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
11
My laptop wireless connection through the internal wireless card will not allow me to access the internet. This is a recent problem encountered after using my laptop as the hardwired-internet computer and hooking up to a wireless router for use by a desktop downstairs. While on a recent trip, I tried to go wireless with the laptop and had the problem I described. The wireless connection supposedly is connected but packets are only sent, not received. I'm wireless dumb so be patient, thanks.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Try removing all the stored wireless profiles and searching for new networks. It may be trying to use the wrong encryption key.
 

bluzdude9999

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
11
How would I remove stored wireless profiles? Sorry, I don't even know what those are.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,403
With Windows' wireless utility WZC (or whatever utility you use to manage your wireless connections) you have probably told it to connect automatically to your home network and maybe others. The information about these networks are called profiles, and you use the wireless utility to delete (or remove) them.

If no luck connecting, please try to connect to your wireless network and show ...

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

bluzdude9999

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
11
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\ray>IPCONFIG / ALL

Error: unrecongnized or incomplete command line.

USAGE:
ipconfig [/? | /all | /renew [adapter] | /release [adapter] |
/flushdns | /displaydns | /registerdns |
/showclassid adapter |
/setclassid adapter [classid] ]

where
adapter Connection name
(wildcard characters * and ? allowed, see examples)

Options:
/? Display this help message
/all Display full configuration information.
/release Release the IP address for the specified adapter.
/renew Renew the IP address for the specified adapter.
/flushdns Purges the DNS Resolver cache.
/registerdns Refreshes all DHCP leases and re-registers DNS names
/displaydns Display the contents of the DNS Resolver Cache.
/showclassid Displays all the dhcp class IDs allowed for adapter.
/setclassid Modifies the dhcp class id.

The default is to display only the IP address, subnet mask and
default gateway for each adapter bound to TCP/IP.

For Release and Renew, if no adapter name is specified, then the IP addres
leases for all adapters bound to TCP/IP will be released or renewed.

For Setclassid, if no ClassId is specified, then the ClassId is removed.

Examples:
> ipconfig ... Show information.
> ipconfig /all ... Show detailed information
> ipconfig /renew ... renew all adapters
> ipconfig /renew EL* ... renew any connection that has its
name starting with EL
> ipconfig /release *Con* ... release all matching connections,
eg. "Local Area Connection 1" or
"Local Area Connection 2"

C:\Documents and Settings\ray>
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,403
In your post right under the word "USAGE" please note that there are no spaces in "/all" (case doesn't matter). :)
 

bluzdude9999

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
11
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\ray>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : OFFICE
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : SiS 900-Based PCI Fast Ethernet Adap
ter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-03-25-11-AB-F6
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, April 03, 2008 6:06:31 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, April 04, 2008 6:06:31 PM

C:\Documents and Settings\ray>
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
You have no wireless hardware that is recognized by Windows.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

Please respond to all the following steps.

  1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
  2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
  3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?
 

bluzdude9999

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
11
Broadcom 802.11g Network Adapter #2
SiS 900-Based PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter

Broadcom 802.11g Network Adapter #2 has a RED X before it

No Yellow ? or ! anywhere
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Right click on the Broadcom adapter and select Enable, see if that helps. :)
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,403
Does the wireless adapter now show as "OK" in Device Manager?

Does the wireless connection show in Network Connections? And is it enabled?

If you answered 'yes' three times please try to connect again and show another ipconfig /all.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Let's also do a stack reset.

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reboot the machine.
 

bluzdude9999

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
11
WIRELESS ADAPTER APPEARS TO BE WORKING NOW, HERE'S THE IPCONFIG/ALL:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\ray>IPCONFIG/ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : OFFICE
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11g Network Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-90-4B-C0-A0-3F
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.6
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, April 07, 2008 6:05:20 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, April 08, 2008 6:05:20 AM

C:\Documents and Settings\ray>
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,403
You have Internet Connection Sharing (ICS) enabled. Don't know on what connection you have it enabled, but if you have that connection and another connection enabled the other connection is going to get the "ICS IP" of 192.168.0.1, and will not work if ICS is not your intention.

So, best to disable ICS except when you intend to actually use it.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top