1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

laptop won't boot tried everything found on internet

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ehale83168, Apr 22, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. ehale83168

ehale83168 Thread Starter

what I found what my laptop is doing is called logo Loop I hit the power button to turn it on it comes up to the Dell logo stay there for a few seconds cut off and then repeats the same process over and over I have a Dell Inspiron 11 3000

2. Gr3iz

Gr3iz

First Name:
    Mark
    Sounds like the HDD may be going south. Either that or the OS is corrupt. Dell systems have diagnostics on them. Typically you press <F12> as soon as you see the Dell logo upon power up. That would be the first thing I'd try ...

3. ehale83168

okay I failed 2 the say this in the first comment. I did a master reset and girlfriend turn laptop off in the middle of it once I realized it I turned it back on hoping it was started over again but the loop is where I've been stuck. I have done f12 , and pulled up the boot menu, I have done thorough tests but it still fails start up all the way

4. Gr3iz

Gr3iz

First Name:
    Mark
    If it passes the HDD diags, it sounds like Windows is indeed corrupt. If the recovery partition still works, you may need to restore it to factory condition with that. You will lose anything on the laptop, but it may be difficult to save anything now anyway.
    What version of Windows was on it?

5. ehale83168

Not worried about losing anything on it,i just got it from a friend for nearly nothing because he was inneed of some extra cash so i was trying to wipe it clean. He had a bunch of junk on it and had it dragging bad. Not sure what windows is on it but from what i found online most of them have 10

6. Gr3iz

Gr3iz

First Name:
    Mark