1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Laptop won't boot up

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by proudap, Jan 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. proudap

    proudap Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    My Acer 4315 with Vista will not boot up anthe recovery module using Alt + F10 does not start. F8 does nothing either.
    Does anyone know what to do? Acer says a recovery disc is no longer available for my serial number and the machine did not come with one.
     
  2. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    What exactly happen and what do you see when you try to start it?
     
  3. proudap

    proudap Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    A blank screen with a blinking cursor at the top
     
  4. proudap

    proudap Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Can get to settings screen with F2 and boot menu with F12, but that's all.
     
  5. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Do you see the Bios flash screen first or anything on the screen before that?
     
  6. proudap

    proudap Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    No, no BIOS screen only the logo splash, but that is the way it has always worked as far as I can remember.
     
  7. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    You will need a Vista disc and try a startup repair option
     
  8. proudap

    proudap Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Can I get something like that at Best Buy or the like? None of my friends or co-workers have one and the machine did not come with one.
     
  9. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Yes you can get a Full Vista disc from best buy
     
  10. proudap

    proudap Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks. I'll try it and let you know.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/972892

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice