1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Laptop won't connect to internet after system restore!

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by bojach, Apr 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bojach

    bojach Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Hey, yesterday my laptop got the Windows Defender 2010 virus and I did a system restore. This got rid of the virus, but now my laptop won't connect to the internet. It connects to the wireless network, but doesn't identify it, and says its an unidentified network. And I know the router is working, as I'm using it to connect to the internet on my PC right now. I also tried connecting the laptop to the internet using a cable, but it still didn't connect to the internet.. so yeah. I found a picture on another forum which shows the same situation:

    [​IMG]

    Its a HP Pavilion and runs Windows Vista.
    This is my IPCONFIG /ALL

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\User1>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Laptop
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-86-06-96-FE
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-3B-74-BB-EF
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d92d:2210:cdc0:c93f%11(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.201.63(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8101E Family PCI-E Fast Ethern
    et NIC (NDIS 6.0)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-68-78-4B-2A
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{CC44A9B5-3CA5-4E9F-8551-31CAD0FF1
    763}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 16:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{145A76D2-DBD0-4D36-984E-887EC23E1
    0B4}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\User1>

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,267
    First Name:
    Terry
    Doing a System Restore doesn't really get rid of a virus. You need to use malware removal tools/techniques or format the partition and install Vista again (or use Recovery partition or disks to "Recover" to factory conditions).
     
  3. bojach

    bojach Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    So no one knows how to solve the problem?
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,267
    First Name:
    Terry
    If you want help with malware removal read the first sticky in the Malware Removal & HijackThis Logs forum and post the required information here. Then click on Report and ask to have this thread moved to that forum.

    I can't speak for anybody else, but I am not interested in trying to help fix the problem as long as malware seems to be in the picture.
     
  5. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
  6. bojach

    bojach Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Thank you so much. I've attached both reports as well as a hijackthis log.
    Cheers.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    it looks like yopu have installed AVG & still got Norton active as well

    first thi g to do is undothe system restore & see if coinnection comes back

    we can clear the malware properly if you get connection back taht way
     
  8. bojach

    bojach Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    You have just saved me $120! Cheers man. My internet is back with the malware. So how do I correctly remove this?
     
  9. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    now

    lets see what is there now

    Delete any existing version of ComboFix you have sitting on your desktop
    Please read and follow all these instructions very carefully

    Download ComboFix from Here to your Desktop.

    **Note: It is important that it is saved directly to your desktop and run from the desktop and not any other folder on your computer**
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    1. Close/disable all anti virus and anti malware programs so they do not interfere with the running of ComboFix.

    • Very Important! Temporarily disable your anti-virus and anti-malware real-time protection and any script blocking components of them or your firewall before performing a scan. They can interfere with ComboFix or remove some of its embedded files which may cause "unpredictable results" or stop combofix running at all
    • Click on THIS LINK to see instructions on how to temporarily disable many security programs while running combofix. The list does not cover every program. If yours is not listed and you don't know how to disable it, please ask.
    • Remember to re enable the protection again after combofix has finished
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    2. Close any open browsers and any other programs you might have running
    Double click on combofix.exe & follow the prompts.​
    If you are using windows XP It might display a pop up saying that "Recovery console is not installed, do you want to install?"
    Please select yes & let it download the files it needs to do this
    When finished, it will produce a report for you.
    Please post the "C:\ComboFix.txt" for further review


    ****Note: Do not mouseclick combofix's window while it's running. That may cause it to stall or freeze ****

    Note: ComboFix may reset a number of Internet Explorer's settings, including making it the default browser.
    Note: Combofix prevents autorun of ALL CDs, floppies and USB devices to assist with malware removal & increase security. If this is an issue or makes it difficult for you -- please tell us when you reply. Read HERE why we disable autoruns

    Please do not install any new programs or update anything (always allow your antivirus/antispyware to update) unless told to do so while we are fixing your problem. If combofix alerts to a new version and offers to update, please let it. It is essential we always use the latest version.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/915770

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice