1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

laptop won't connect wirelessly

Discussion in 'Networking' started by EVEY, Mar 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. EVEY

    EVEY Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Hi, my wireless laptop wont connect to the internet wirelessly, and it used to before, i have to put the earthnet cable in order to connect, my other laptop connects wirelessly through my network, but i cant get this one to connect . I click on the lcon put the password and i get a message that it can not connect, Tried troubleshooting and get network adapter and access point
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,552
    Disable encryption on the router and connect. Assuming success you can probably re-enable encryption and reconnect.
     
  3. EVEY

    EVEY Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    That did not work either.
     
  4. EVEY

    EVEY Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    i can connect with the earthnet cable but it wont let me connect wirelessly.
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,552
    Install the latest wireless driver. If it is an integrated adapter get the driver from the laptop manufacturer's web site. Even if you have the latest driver already reinstall it anyhow, as the installed version may be corrupted.

    Any non-Windows firewall or security suite? Some have different settings for wired and wireless and sometimes they get mis-configured or corrupted.

    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector.
     
  6. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    Since your computer has connected before, I wonder if its a password issue. Even if you unsecure the router, you wouldn;t (shouldn't) be able to if your computer has wireless information as it would not match the router's configuration. The computer will not tell you this, it will just say not connected. try removing the network from your computer in order to ask it to type in the key again (or connect straight away if the router is still unsecured).
     
  7. EVEY

    EVEY Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    my other laptop connects with the password I have and my daughters also. This laptop use to connect also, it just wont now.
     
  8. EVEY

    EVEY Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    I downloaded the file, but i cannot find it.i found it but i dont know how to copy to the forum
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,552
    TSG Posting a Screenshot.

    Your Computer specs say Windows 7. If you do have Windows 7 (or Vista) you may find the Snipping Tool to be an easier way to get a screen shot.
     
  10. EVEY

    EVEY Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    I think i attached it to this reply my network is the linksys
     

    Attached Files:

  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,552
    That's the Gadget, not the Inspector, but in this case I believe it shows sufficient information.

    We've been seeing a lot of problems with that adapter, mostly it can connect to WPA(2) secured networks but then cannot communicate. Why you cannot connect to even an unsecured network I don't know. Since you were connecting before probably something happened to the driver (became corrupted or the wrong one installed), to a non-Windows firewall or security suite (became mis-configured or corrupted) or the adapter (became defective).
     
  12. EVEY

    EVEY Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : EVEY-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 06-23-4D-58-B0-3F
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-23-4D-58-B0-3F
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-72-DA-9E-9C
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{295CA6A0-0F21-4170-B729-00533FAF6F40}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/984888