Laptop won't connect with anything!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

z3mmn

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2005
Messages
3
My son has a Dell Inspiron 6000. He's been using it for two years now without a problem. Yesterday he tried to get on line (wireless connection) and could not. He kept getting the message, "Windows connot configure this wireless connection". When I did a test of the network connection I got the message, "Did not receive IP address" and it appears that there is an icon missing from his control panel. It was between Wireless Ntework Set up and Viewpoint. I have no idea what was there. I tried everything I could think of. Then I took the Ethernet cable from my desktop and plugged that into his laptop and he still couldn't connect. I am baffled. We use FIOS through Verizon as our ISP and the modem/router is a Actiontec MI424WR. I do not have any problems with my desk top, it's as if something has been erased from his laptop, but he says he did not delete anything (he's 20 so I believe him). I have gone to the Dell support pages and couldn't find anything helpful. Also odd, is that in his taskbar, the wireless icon says, connected and that the signal strenght is excellent, so why can't he connect? Am I being an idiot and missing the obvious?
 

TravisXP

Banned
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
30
Have you done system restore.. just restore it to the date it worked.. if all else fails.. post back


TravisXP
 

z3mmn

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2005
Messages
3
Had already that of that but his system restore was never turned on, so there was no point to go back to.
 

TravisXP

Banned
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
30
give me a moment it might be some type of virus thats blocking your connection so since you dont have internet on the computer u need to save these files that i ask you to download on a blank cd
 

TravisXP

Banned
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
30
If you could please go on google and search for SUPER Anti-spyware and download that and save it on your desktop. then get a blank CD-R cd and put inside computer then go on my computer and right click and hit explore then go on desktop and grab the file u downloaded and drag it to the explored cd then insert it in the problem pc
Then do a full scan if all elese fails post back i got another idea

TravisXP
 

TravisXP

Banned
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
30
NVM i read it through and i think i found the solution to your problem.. on your network connections right click and click repair.. hopefully the information works
 

z3mmn

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 28, 2005
Messages
3
Tried the repair thing already too, still didn't work. We have top notch virus protection and two adware/spyware protection programs. And we keep them very up to date. I'm afriad my last resort will be to re-install Windows and I really don't want to do that.
 

bearone2

Banned
Joined
Jun 4, 2004
Messages
5,809
the wireless part may have failed, whether onboard, pci or usb adapter or be an encryption issue..

does it show up in device manager? try reinstalling the sofware.
 

TravisXP

Banned
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
30
or ping the network... my conclusion is to click start, then RUN and type in CMD. then type ipconfig then the default you type in your internet browser like 456.533.56.5 just type it in like that no "www" or ".com" just the ip and look at your settings. and if its wireless do the same to the main computer see if its blocking it.
 

TravisXP

Banned
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
30
i may not talk alot cause i am makeing food but post back and if u have any questions dont hesitate to ask my msn addy is [email protected] so add me if u have to talk to me asap
 

bearone2

Banned
Joined
Jun 4, 2004
Messages
5,809
you've got a bezillion ideas which are great, unless the wireless adapter isn't in device manager or has a problem/exclamation point.
 

TravisXP

Banned
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
30
well my cousin had the same problem he just had to get a new modem but i thought that was worth it but there might be another solution
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top