1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Laptop won't identify my router IP address

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jimmy174, Dec 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jimmy174

    jimmy174 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Hi, basically we got sent this new router from Orange (our ISP) and we have had problems with it for the last week. The router model is the Netgear N150 DGN1000. Sometimes I connect it will be absolutely fine, but then the next time I log onto my laptop it can't identify the network, it says connected but doesn't have the globe in the bottom right hand corner of my screen. Then we have to reset the router a few times everytime until it recognises it, even though the settings are saved when we connected last time. It is the same with my sisters laptop. We both have Atheros network adapters so that may be a compatability issue with the router, but my brother connects fine on his everytime. A similar problem occurs with modern warfare 3 on my ps3, it won't let me sign in to playstation network half the time and keeps saying NAT type failed, even though NAT is enabled on my router. If anyone could help me to get this problem sorted and to get a consistent network connection that connects every time that would be great. We changed the security type to WEP on it a few days ago from WPA and that meant we could sign into modern warfare 3 some of the time rather than never, but we are still having issues. If anyone can help me that would be fantastic, cheers :)
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,846
    First Name:
    Terry
    Do you have the same problems when you connect the laptop by ethernet?

    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector and show ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. jimmy174

    jimmy174 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    yeh when i try to connect by wire my laptop still cant identify the network. in terms of ethernet connection settings on the router i dont think it is compatible with the PPPoE setting so i just have it on PPPoA at the moment. is that a problem?

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\James>IPCONFIG/ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Acer7535G
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5B91 Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-17-C4-99-F9-AF
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::e9f1:533d:606c:68a4%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 19 December 2011 23:36:42
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 20 December 2011 23:36:41
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 201332676
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-11-CB-B2-C4-00-1F-16-A9-CD-5D

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-16-A9-CD-5D
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{5D22D19A-C494-4DB7-994F-582FD6CE0
    4E6}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.leeds.ac.uk
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\James>

    i hope u can figure out the problem from the above info as i have just tried to get onto the PSN network on my ps3 router and i am having the problem of the NAT type failing...again.
     
  4. jimmy174

    jimmy174 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    for some reason it wont let me paste a screenshot of the Xirrus wi-fi inspector results in here. i can let you know the results if you can tell me which ones you need and i will just type them up for you, cheers
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,846
    First Name:
    Terry
    You have an apparently good wireless connection to a router whose IP address is 192.168.0.1. If you are still having some problem exactly what is it?

    If you are talking about connecting your computer to the router by ethernet you just use a standard (default) dynamic connection. PPPoE or PPPoA is usually used for (A)DSL, but not for connecting to a router.

    Here is TSG Posting a Screenshot.
     
  6. jimmy174

    jimmy174 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Right i have attached that screenshot from Xirrus as JPEG attachment.

    The main problem with the internet/router is not so much the connection once I am on it (although it can be a bit rubbish when on the ps3), it is more the fact I am having trouble connecting/identifying the network. The router also seems to kick people off it when all the devices are connected, there are 6 devices maximum. This seems like a lot of devices, but we never had a problem with any of them on the old router. Is there a solution to keeping these devices permanently connected rather than having to reboot the router two or three times every time to get them to connect/identify the network properly?? Cheers
     

    Attached Files:

  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,846
    First Name:
    Terry
    I don't know anything to advise about the PS3.

    Vista sometimes struggles with WEP, so keep that in mind as you go forward.

    For each of your computers having any issue with the wireless connection make sure you have the latest wireless driver. For an integrated adapter get the driver from the laptop manufacturer's web site. For PCI, PCMCIA or USB adapters get the driver from the card manufacturer's web site. In no case rely on Windows or Device Manager to find the driver for you.

    Make sure you have the latest router firmware. When/if you update the firmware then reset the router to factory defaults and reconfigure it.

    You may have another device that interferes with the wireless. Most common are 2.4 GHz cordless phones and baby monitors.
     
  8. jimmy174

    jimmy174 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Ah right okay, I know my router is up to date so that is all good. I will have a check for any new drivers for my wireless adapter too. The house does have cordless phones which could be causing a problem and could be why the internet cuts out every time the phone rings.
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,846
    First Name:
    Terry
    The phones or documentation may give the frequencies they use. If you need to test unplug the base station and remove the battery from handsets.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1031989

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice