1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

laptop wont operating on battery

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Teesside-tim, Feb 25, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Teesside-tim

    Teesside-tim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    I have a toshiba satellite l300d laptop. I have recently bought a new battery as the old one was alsmost gone. However despite the laptop recognising the battery is there, if I remove the mains/ Ac lead the machine dies, suggesting it doesnt recognise the power in the battery. If I re-attach the old one , it is fine. Any advice please ?
     
  2. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,080
    First Name:
    Allan
    Does the charging light come on ?

    What OS ?

    Does it show how much charge the battery has in Windows ? Does it go up over time ?
     
  3. prunejuice

    prunejuice

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    3,432
    Is this a real Toshiba battery, or a cheap eBay knock-off?
     
  4. marbski

    marbski

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    223
    Make sure your new laptop battery lead is charging...... but if not then the problem will be your new battery.
     
  5. Teesside-tim

    Teesside-tim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    OS is windows vista

    Yes it shows the battery and that it is charging but it appears to only charge to 49%
     
  6. Teesside-tim

    Teesside-tim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Battery lead shows as charging but seems to stop at 49%
     
  7. Teesside-tim

    Teesside-tim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    It's an RoHs battery


    Have noticed that the volts are the same but the wattage is different - original is 44wh new one is 56wh. Would that cause the issue?
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1090902

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice