1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Laptop won't recognize Ethernet Cable

Discussion in 'Networking' started by cedhunter, Oct 8, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cedhunter

    cedhunter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    So here it is, I can use wi-fi, but I prefer a wired connection for faster download and less lag. Yesterday my laptop decided that he would not be able to recognize any ethernet cable and I don't know what to do. I tried to deactivate the wi-fi card, tried to reinstall and download the latest drivers, I even tried to use a usb to ethernet adapter. Nothing works pc won't see any ethernet cable connected. Please help.
     
  2. cedhunter

    cedhunter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Microsoft Windows [version 10.0.10240]
    (c) 2015 Microsoft Corporation. Tous droits réservés.

    C:\Users\Pc>ipconfig

    Configuration IP de Windows


    Carte Ethernet Ethernet 2 :

    Statut du média. . . . . . . . . . . . : Média déconnecté
    Suffixe DNS propre à la connexion. . . :

    Carte Ethernet Ethernet 3 :

    Statut du média. . . . . . . . . . . . : Média déconnecté
    Suffixe DNS propre à la connexion. . . :

    Carte réseau sans fil Connexion au réseau local* 3 :

    Statut du média. . . . . . . . . . . . : Média déconnecté
    Suffixe DNS propre à la connexion. . . :

    Carte réseau sans fil Connexion réseau sans fil :

    Suffixe DNS propre à la connexion. . . : home
    Adresse IPv6 de liaison locale. . . . .: fe80::85e5:3774:40d7:e0ce%20
    Adresse IPv4. . . . . . . . . . . . . .: 192.168.2.11
    Masque de sous-réseau. . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Passerelle par défaut. . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1

    Carte Ethernet Ethernet :

    Statut du média. . . . . . . . . . . . : Média déconnecté
    Suffixe DNS propre à la connexion. . . :

    Carte Tunnel isatap.home :

    Statut du média. . . . . . . . . . . . : Média déconnecté
    Suffixe DNS propre à la connexion. . . : home

    Carte Tunnel Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface :

    Suffixe DNS propre à la connexion. . . :
    Adresse IPv6. . . . . . . . . . . . . .: 2001:0:9d38:6ab8:cc6:24eb:b9cf:c0c2
    Adresse IPv6 de liaison locale. . . . .: fe80::cc6:24eb:b9cf:c0c2%3
    Passerelle par défaut. . . . . . . . . : ::

    C:\Users\Pc>
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,904
    First Name:
    Wayne
    would you post a device manager screen shot
    Also
    do an tcp/ip reset

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager


    Please Post back the results in device manager as requested below

    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the screen shot and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.
    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

    how to access device manager for different windows versions

    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

    Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should now open to allow device manager to be seen, see the menu on the left hand side

    on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

    If the above does not work then

    For Windows 8 , 8.1 or Windows 10

    If you happen to be using a keyboard with Windows 8, the quickest way to open Device Manager is via its shortcut on the Power User Menu, accessible by pressing the WINDOW key and the X key together.
    If on a touch screen - have a read here http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windows-8/a/device-manager-windows-8.htm

    Once you are in device manager then navigate to:

    network adapters, click on the + > post back the devices that are listed under network adapters
    are there any yellow ! ? or a X​

    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window.

    For Windows 8 , 8.1 , 10
    you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/
    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8 and Windows 10

    For Windows Vista through to Windows 10
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen )​

    For Windows 8 & 10
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Windows + X Keys together and choose Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.
    Or Right click on the windows icon - bottom left hand side - A menuu appears - choose Command Prompt (Admin)

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    • Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter
    • Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter
    • Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter
    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen )​
    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied
    This error will occur with windows 8 and windows 10 , so ignore.

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
    also the link has a Microsoft Fix it , which will do the above for you

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1157432

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice