1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Laptop won't recognize ethernet cable

Discussion in 'Networking' started by AnimaBella, Jan 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. AnimaBella

    AnimaBella Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    I got a new laptop a few weeks ago, and the computer will not recognize that the ethernet cable is plugged in. I use my school's network, so the cable just plugs into the wall. I use Windows 7. All help is appreciated. :)
     
  2. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Chuck Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    49,399
    Hi AnimaBella, and welcome to TSG.

    Are you able to test the cable and wall outlet with another computer?

    Does the Windows hardware device manager show the LAN hardware and does it show any problems with it?
     
  3. AnimaBella

    AnimaBella Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Yes, I tested it with my desktop, and it works fine.

    How do I do that?
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,547
    Meaning that no (ethernet) LED lights when you connect the cable?

    For the Device Manager either hit the Windows logo key or click on the Start orb and type "dev man" w/o the quotes. Select Device Manager from the found items. Click on the triangle in front of Network adapters and tell us what is listed there. Also tell us about (if there are any) warnings or errors in Device Manager.
     
  5. AnimaBella

    AnimaBella Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    yeah, no LED lights when the cable is plugged in.

    Under "Network Adapters" the following two items are listed:
    -Atheros AR8131 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (NDIS 6.20)
    -Intel(R) Wifi Link 1000 BGN
     
  6. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Chuck Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    49,399
    Are there any red or yellow warning symbols on the icon for the device? If you double click on the device name, do you get a pop up screen that says the device is working normally?
     
  7. AnimaBella

    AnimaBella Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    I figured it out (doing what you said). It said that the device was disabled, so I enabled it.
    Thanks for your help! =)
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    You can mark your own threads solved using the [​IMG] button at the top of the first page of the thread in the upper left corner.© :)
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/892904