1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Laptop works on dmain at work but not at hotel or home

Discussion in 'Networking' started by dnames, Jan 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dnames

    dnames Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    XP Pro sp2, works on domain at work (DHCP) but will not work at home or at hotel. It worked fine before but it wont obtain address outside of domain at work. I have tried reset of winsoc, ip stack and am not sure why it won work. Any suggestions?
     
  2. ace_coffee

    ace_coffee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    329
    Have you renewed the IP?

    Command line:
    type:
    ipconfig /release [enter]
    ipconfig /renew [enter]
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    If you used the WINSOCK repair found on the net on an XP-SP2 machine, it's not correct for the TCP/IP stack for SP2. The TCP/IP stack registry entries changed significantly for SP2, and the old WINSOCK repair corrupts the new entries. Do the following repair and see if that helps.

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

    For these commands, Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log
     
  4. dnames

    dnames Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Hey all! Thanks for the suggestions. I have tried the following

    Release renew
    winsoc reset
    netsh ip reset
    Have removed all listed previous connections for wireless adapter

    It is very strange. On the domain here at work, It gains access fine. It will also gain access fine on wirless linksys at work

    All settings are for DHCP, no proxy server

    COuld there be a reg key thta is holding default settings for the domain and DNS that are not allowing the connection to renew outside of the domain here at work?
     
  5. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    When you connect wireless, can you do a:
    start / run / cmd
    then run IPCONFIG /ALL > c:\ipconfig.txt
    then run
    notepad c:\ipconfig.txt and post the results

    Have you tried a wired connection. Perhaps it is just something with the wireless?
     
  6. dnames

    dnames Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    I have tried both the wirless (built in ) and ethernet (built in)
    I do not have the laptop in front of me at this time. I will have it after 3 PM today through out the day tomorrow. Problem is that I cant recreate the problem at work for it works fine here. I will give you a snap shot after 3 PM for you to look at. Again, Thanks!
     
  7. dnames

    dnames Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    I think I found the problem...in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\software\policies\microsoft\win dows NT\DNSclient
    entry NAMESERVER 10.28.13.2

    This ip address is the internal DNS server - we use dhcp and it works okay
    in the local network. When a person takes thier laptop to another network
    (wireless) to connect they show connectivity, but cannot access the internet.
    I deleted the key and I am going to test it this weekend...I will let you all know if th is works...Thanks again for the suggestions
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Have you tried using the alternate configuration feature of XP for the two environments?
     
  9. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Is the problem that the computer can't access the Internet or what was mentioned in the first post - "it wont obtain address outside of domain".
     
  10. dnames

    dnames Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    I resolved it.
    problem...in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\software\policies\microsoft\win dows NT\DNSclient
    entry NAMESERVER
    Delete key and it works fine.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/537915

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice