1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Laptop works with Ethernet cable but not Wifi

Discussion in 'Networking' started by seb1, Nov 9, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. seb1

    seb1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    I have Lenovo laptop and my internet works just fine when the cable is connected but Wifi does not work. It shows that i have excellent signal on the side but it just wont connect. When i type in password it says " Windows cannot connect to XYZ ". I use Windows 7 and my wireless network adapter is Atheros AR9285.


    C:\Users\MY>IPCONFIG/ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : MY-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : local.lan

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Anchorfree HSS VPN Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-47-D9-50-DE
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 76-F1-A1-FA-B6-58
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 70-F1-A1-FA-B6-58
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C0-CB-38-FC-E4-79
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : local.lan
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 88-AE-1D-DE-5A-2B
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::80d3:6229:af80:1d%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, November 09, 2012 5:05:14 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, November 09, 2012 5:05:14 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::226:15ff:fe6b:7900%11
    192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Teredo Tunneling Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:6ab8:3c0f:26ca:3f57:fefd(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3c0f:26ca:3f57:fefd%15(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{47D950DE-EF18-42E2-A0B6-BB2A995C9F25}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.local.lan:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : local.lan
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{AAE00A99-7637-4DAF-AE1E-4BA53B0CACF7}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{46CC0007-1475-4887-8908-EAF1243191D7}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    Here's a screenshot of what it shows
     

    Attached Files:

  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,904
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see an xirrus screen shot - see below
    do a tcp/ip stack repair - see how below

    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/ or
    if you want to optimise base station position and signal strength / dead spots use
    http://www.chimoosoft.com/products/apgrapher/ which has a graph function to monitor signal
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter

    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. seb1

    seb1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Here's the screenshot :eek:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,904
    First Name:
    Wayne
    did you do the TCP/IP stack repair ?
    also
    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc

    log into the router and take the security off ,now see if it will connect - if it does - put the security back on again
     
  5. seb1

    seb1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    It says *The requested operation requires elevation.* but i opened new command prompt and it dint say access denied.

    C:\Users\MY>netsh winsock reset catalog
    The requested operation requires elevation (Run as administrator).


    C:\Users\MY> netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Reseting Interface, failed.
    The requested operation requires elevation (Run as administrator).
    There's no user specified settings to be reset.


    C:\Users\MY>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    There's no user specified settings to be reset.

    I use McAfree Security Center, which came with my Laptop/Windows 7. I was thinking of uninstalling it and downloading Microsoft Security Essentials maybe? :)
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,995
    First Name:
    Terry
    Did you

    ?
     
  7. seb1

    seb1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Okay, I just tried again and it asked me to restart my laptop and i just did. I opened command prompt through "Run as Administrator" once it restarted but it dint show anything like "Access is Denied". :(
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,995
    First Name:
    Terry
    Good. :)

    Now, even if you are going to use McAffee after this gets fixed, uninstall it and run the McAfee Removal Tool. FWIW, I personally rely on only the Windows firewall and Microsoft Security Essentials.
     
  9. seb1

    seb1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    I uninstalled McAfee and ran the McAfee removal tool and downloaded Microsoft Security Essentials. I still cant seem to connect Wifi though.
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,995
    First Name:
    Terry
    Make sure you have the latest wireless driver from the laptop manufacturer's web site.

    Have you (from post # 4)

     
  11. seb1

    seb1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    I updated Atheros AR9285 wireless driver and i turned off the security for a while but it still dint connect. It showed yellow triangle next to the green signals and message popped up saying windows was unable to connect. :confused:

    Here's screenshot of it.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,904
    First Name:
    Wayne
    this does not always work - but try
    safemode with networking
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  13. seb1

    seb1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Nope, it dint work :(
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,904
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can you post the status of the services please
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Status of Services

    We would like to see some status information for each of the services listed below.

    To do this goto

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> type CMD to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    Type the following command
    SERVICES.MSC

    OR
    Control Panel>
    Administrative Tools>
    Services>

    then for each of the services listed below - Please post back the following status information;
    If the service is set to Started or Stopped
    and
    If the service is set to Automatic or Manual

    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Windows 7 & Vista wireless configurations only)
    • Workstation


    If any of those services are not started/running,
    then right click on the service
    then from the menu choose properties and now check the dependencies.

    for each dependency entry - Check each of one of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running/starting.

    ---------
     
  15. seb1

    seb1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    They were all running/started :)

    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues) Automatic
    • Computer Browser Manual
    • DHCP Client Automatic
    • DNS Client Automatic
    • Network Connections Manual
    • Network Location Awareness Automatic
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC) Manual
    • Server Automatic
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper Automatic
    • WLAN AutoConfig Automatic
    • Workstation Automatic
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1076052

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice