1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Lavasoft Ad-aware won't update

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by LJborn, Mar 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. LJborn

    LJborn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    211
    Lavasoft told me I had to get rid of Ad-aware SE and download Ad-aware 2007, so I did. Seemed to go okay, until I tried to update the virus definitions. Kept getting error that unable to update by SSL and to perform webupdate. Tried webupdate several times. Even found the instructions for manual update: downloaded the latest definition zip file. Unzipped into the correct folder (c:\programfiles\lavasoft\ad-aware 2007) supposedly, but when I checked again, still old defns... Used revoinstaller program to completely remove and then reinstalled ad-aware 2007... still errors.

    I had been using adaware for YEARS, never having any problem. What do I do now? Can't get the newest version to work.

    I await your advice, patiently!!!
     
  2. Stoner

    Stoner Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    44,931
    I and others from what I read, are having similar problems.
    If it isn't corrected soon, I will likely uninstall and try something else.
     
  3. Broni

    Broni

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    979
    It looks like Ad-aware becoming a history...
     
  4. John Burns

    John Burns

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 1999
    Messages:
    1,150
    It's fixed now................:)
     
  5. Stoner

    Stoner Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    44,931
    Must have just broken again.
     
  6. DarqueMist

    DarqueMist

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Messages:
    5,037
    Nope, I'm getting the same error they are so it isn't fixed.
    Threads on the Lavasoft forum seem to indicate that some people are getting the updates and some aren't. Guess you're one of the lucky ones john.

    for those interested
    Cannot Check for Definitions Updates
     
  7. Broni

    Broni

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    979
    C'mmon guys, there are so many free antispyware tools out there, even better, then Ad-aware. Why bother?
     
  8. DarqueMist

    DarqueMist

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Messages:
    5,037
    Yes there are, I've become a fan of SuperAntispyware because of a recommendation on this forum. Only negative I've found about it is it takes a very long time to do a complete scan. I still use adaware though, along with spybot for on demand scans and Defender for real time monitoring as I've always felt a multi pronged approach was best when trying to deal with malware
     
  9. Broni

    Broni

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    979
    Superantispyware
    Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware
    a-Squared
    ThreatFire
    ...this is what I use.
     
  10. John Burns

    John Burns

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 1999
    Messages:
    1,150
    Their servers are probably swamped - MANY people have been trying to update today with no success.
     
  11. DarqueMist

    DarqueMist

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Messages:
    5,037
    That would be my first guess, seen it happen with them before and probably will again. I'm just leaving it be until the weekend which is when I run my scans anyway.
     
  12. LJborn

    LJborn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    211
    Okay guys. Glad to hear that I have lots of company. What is the group consensus as to the another good free program to use as an alternative to ad-aware. I used to run Spybot in addition to ad-aware. Never heard of superantispyware. is that 'better' than spybot?
     
  13. John Burns

    John Burns

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 1999
    Messages:
    1,150
    New updates today - fixed again, but server is VERY busy.
     
  14. LJborn

    LJborn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    211
    Thanks to DarqueMist, I was able to fix my problem. When I did the manual update yesterday (twice - before and after a total reinstall), I followed the instructions on the lavasoft website for manual update, which said to put the unzipped file in program files\Lavasoft\Ad-aware 2007\.... However, when I read the thread referenced by DarqueMist, one of the posters said the core file should be put in c:\documents and settings\all users\application data\lavasoft\ad-aware 2007....

    Just took the core file - same one I'd already downloaded - and unzipped it into the 'new' location. Worked perfectly. I now have the 060.0000 virus defns and my full scan is running even as we speak....

    Wheeeeeeeeeeeee.....
     
  15. John Burns

    John Burns

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 1999
    Messages:
    1,150
    I have two pc's on my home network - one of them was able to update this morning, but the other tried and tried - and finally succeeded late this afternoon. Just be patient.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/692307