lcd for hp5100

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

f15 eagle

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 20, 2002
Messages
17
the lcd display of an hp5100 has about a bottom 1/3 of the screen showing what appears to be the last row of good pixels being repeated. this was a replacement screen from when the laptop was dropped. my thought now is it might be the video card or the lcd inverter. any thoughts from the pros?
thanks in advance for your help.
 

f15 eagle

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 20, 2002
Messages
17
sorry, but i forgot to say that the screen is fine for the first few seconds on boot. the screen is brand new. i know sometimes parts arrive doa or damaged but i'm pretty sure this is not the case. i won't rule it out though.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2003
Messages
120
Have you tried reconnecting the screen (a la reseating a card in a PC)? If you're the one that (physically) replaced the screen, it shouldn't be too difficult for you. Check any ribbon or pin connectors from the screen, to ensure that nothing is frayed/severed/torn/broken.

Also, when you say "fine for the first few seconds on boot", how much of the Windows display do you see (splashscreen, desktop, etc.) before the screen messes up?
 

f15 eagle

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 20, 2002
Messages
17
checked connectors and reseated everything. i get the dos messages and then an hp window. thats when i get the bottom 1/3 of the screen mess. it seems to happen when the drivers are loaded. also, i tried the old panel again, other than the damaged areas, the bottom portion of the screen was ok. any other thoughts.
thanks.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2003
Messages
120
It doesn't sound like a driver issue. If the new screen is supposed to be a direct replacement for the original, and the original doesn't give you the same problem, then send the new screen back.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Have you tried connecting the laptop to an external monitor? If the problem persists its likely the Video card.
 

f15 eagle

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 20, 2002
Messages
17
when i was putting the new screen back in, i was connecting the switchboard pca and accidently hit one of the buttons and it started to boot up. it got all the way to the desktop before the screen messed up. at that point, i had just made the last connection. now it seems the pca is damaged.
i did all this so i can try an external monitor, which is fine this way.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top