1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Lenovo Thinkpad SL500 4Gb max RAM or 8Gb?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by arochester, Aug 29, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. arochester

    arochester Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    696
    I have acquired a Lenovo Thinkpad SL500. It is running Windows 10.

    Officially its maximum RAM is 4Gb.
    https://download.lenovo.com/ibmdl/pub/pc/pccbbs/mobiles_pdf/43y6762_03.pdf
    https://uk.crucial.com/gbr/en/compatible-upgrade-for/Lenovo/thinkpad-sl500-series

    Unofficially it takes 8Gb
    https://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Unofficial_maximum_memory_specs
    https://www.compuram.biz/memory/lenovo/notebook/thinkpad/sl-series/sl500/?st=tab_maxmem

    I have put in 8Gb (2x4Gb) but it only recognises 4Gb in total. Tried both sticks in both, of 2 slots, and it says 2Gb each

    Does anyone know how I can get it to see 8Gb?
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,112
    First Name:
    Frank
    The Lenovo ThinkPad SL500 laptop is a very old model which has an Intel GM45 chipset and uses DDR2 RAM.
    The maximum supported amount appears to be 4 GB(2 GB X 2).
    But depending on which BIOS version and processor it has, it may very well support 8 GB(4 GB X 2).

    What's the exact serial number on yours?
    Which country was it purchased in?

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2019
  3. arochester

    arochester Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    696
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,112
    First Name:
    Frank
    From what I can determine, the Lenovo 27464DG model has an Intel Core 2 Duo processor and supports 4 GB of DDR2-667 RAM.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1232219

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice