1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Lenovo Y400 - wifi adapter keeps freezing/dying randomly

Discussion in 'Networking' started by astralyte, Jan 18, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. astralyte

astralyte Thread Starter

Hi all!

This is my first time posting here, and I tried to look through some of the past threads but none of them were quite like the problem I've been having. Here are the specs for my laptop which was purchased just earlier this month, first off:

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 8, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3630QM CPU @ 2.40GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 58 Stepping 9
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 8139 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M, -2048 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 905399 MB, Free - 728285 MB; D: Total - 25599 MB, Free - 23141 MB;
    Motherboard: LENOVO, INVALID
    Antivirus: AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition 2013, Updated and Enabled

The problem I've been having is this: Lately, for the past 2-3 days or so, my wifi adapter would suddenly die-- meaning I can't connect to my home router or anyone else's, and when I try to use Windows' "Troubleshoot problems" feature, it would always get stuck at either "looking for problems with connectivity" or "resetting your wifi adapter". When I try to go into the advance settings to manually disable/enable my wifi adapter for myself, it would never actually work. When I try to click on the icon in the system tray, nothing would happen and it wouldn't pop up with the list of available networks like usual.