1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

LG burner/player

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by Selwyn, Feb 6, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Selwyn

Selwyn Thread Starter

Hi, Guys.......
    This is my first time on this particular TechGuys forum; I hope someone out there can help!

Over the last two years I have successfully burned tens of DVD-RW discs (usually Verbatim), on my LG with no problems. As you know, the -RW allows me editing functions (partial erasing, combining/transposing scenes, etc.). About 3-4 weeks ago I purchased 20 new discs - DVD-RW's - and confidently began using them to burn a series of programs from my stored TV recording hard disc.

To my great surprise when it came to editing-out unwanted sections of the recorded programs - ads etc. - the drop-down menu on my LG showed grey-inactive for the editing option. I checked several of the discs thinking that perhaps one or two were duds. I also re-inserted old DVD-RW's that I had previously recorded satisfactorily and the full editing menu immediately re-appeared.

Let me stress: I am using the same category/make of disc, the same recording/burning/playing hardware but receiving a negative response.

Very frustrating and bewildering.

Has anyone got a clue as to what is happening here?

Yours,
    Selwyn:mad:

2. Noyb

Noyb Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Jay
    Are the new DVDs Verbatim ???
    Have you tried another New batch ???

The Smithsonian Institute did a study on the longevity of CD - DVDs
    Their conclusion was they can't be trusted to maintain the same longevity .... even the same mfr.
    The manufactures can and will change the build process and are not required to tell us.

From what I've seen, Verbatim usually specifies the process.

3. Selwyn