1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

lilo help please

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by deuce868, Jan 24, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. deuce868

    deuce868 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2000
    Messages:
    637
    I had a winxp partition set up and running. I installed Debian with the drive set up like this:

    /boot - 50mb start of drive
    windows XP - 60gig
    /swap - 1 gig
    / - rest of drive

    Now the XP was working and once I installed debian it works fine, but I can't seem to get lilo to boot my XP drive. I tried using this mod to my lilo.conf
    boot=/dev/hda
    root=/dev/hda4
    install=/boot/boot.b
    map=/boot/map
    prompt
    timeout=20

    default=Linux
    image=/vmlinuz
    label=Linux
    initrd=/initrd.img

    other=/dev/hda5
    label=WinXP

    I think the XP partition might be a extended off of the hda2. Does anyone know how I can tell what I should be putting in here to get my XP as an option?

    Thanks a ton for the help.
     
  2. Shadow2531

    Shadow2531

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,636
    I barely know what I am talking about, but I would assume hda2 and that's what I would probably try.

    If you load up kde control center and look at the block devices, it should show

    hda1
    hda4

    and possilby hda2.

    It will probably just tell you what you already know, but if it lists hda2 and shows a size of 60GB, then that's it probably, but it probably won't show it unless you can mount it etc.

    I'm running debian 3.0r2 (woody).

    searching on the net,

    other=/dev/hda2
    label=WinXP
    table=/dev/hda

    would be the correct entry , but if it's on an extended partitoin, then I'm not sure, but it would probably be hda5 like you said. 4 primaries and the first extended would be 5 I think. If I was in charge of setting up a partition scheme, the first extended partition on hda2 would be hda2a , but I don't think it works that way.
     
  3. deuce868

    deuce868 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2000
    Messages:
    637
    no dice. Actually added the table line broke lilo. I might be in for a reinstall of everything here in a bit if I can't get XP back up.
     
  4. tnik

    tnik

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    735
    When your in linux, what partition does fdisk say that your XP partition is?

    if you created your partitions like your list:

    /boot - 50mb start of drive
    windows XP - 60gig
    /swap - 1 gig
    / - rest of drive

    your windows entry should be /dev/hda2

    if your not sure, just try /dev/hda1 through 5, see which one works..

    also make sure that you still have a boot.ini file in your windows partiton..

    hope this helps :)
     
  5. Shadow2531

    Shadow2531

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,636
    I'm still searching to see what else I can find. I would like to know the answer too. I'll take note that table is not a good idea.

    http://home.neo.rr.com/meffie/linux/PowerUp/PowerUp.txt

    according to that page, it would be just like you were saying.

    <hda>
    <partition1 type="primary" path="/boot" id="/dev/hda1" />
    <partition2 type="primary_with_extended(s)" id="/dev/hda2"><partition5 type="extended" id="/dev/hda5"/></partition2>
    <partition3 type="primary" id="/dev/hda3"/ name="swap"/>
    <partition4 type="primary" path="/" id="/dev/hda4"/>
    </hda>



    I guess it's best to have everything on primaries.

    So consider that, but again, I'm just offering guesses.
     
  6. deuce868

    deuce868 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2000
    Messages:
    637
    Thanks for the help. I ended up formatting last night and once I get my windows back up and running I will try to find some info on the best way to set up a Debian/XP dual boot.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. zehelmer
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    840
  2. aufkes
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    2,291
  3. Regicide
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    696
  4. trevor1
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    596
  5. LilA
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    479
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/197589