1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Limited access from a wifi router

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by n_srinath93, Feb 25, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. n_srinath93

    n_srinath93 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    hello everybody
    I had windows 8 installed laptop. after connecting to the wireless router, it is showing LIMITED. I am able to access internet. But I am not able to access stores and others given by windows 8. It is because of Limited access. So, please help me out in solving this.

    After running cmd /k ipconfig /all
    I am getting the following results.

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : SRINATH
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : iith.ac.in

    Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 32-7C-8F-07-D6-CF
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : iith.ac.in
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Qualcomm Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network
    Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 20-7C-8F-07-D6-CF
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::10bf:eed1:c73e:d91f%25(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.127(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, February 25, 2013 5:16:06 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, February 26, 2013 5:16:50 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 421559439
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-6E-B3-9C-20-7C-8F-07-D6-CF

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-27-13-FF-A6-8D
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : B8-AC-6F-72-C2-DF
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.iith.ac.in:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : iith.ac.in
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can you explain further and give an example of the stores you cannot access

    try using the desktop version of internet explorer and not the application version
     
  3. n_srinath93

    n_srinath93 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    i am not able to access windows stores, mail, people, maps and all others. Mainly i am concerned about the media state when i run"cmd /k ipconfig /all"
    It is showing "Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected"

    Any help would be greatly appreciated
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    in which case you should not be getting onto any site - however, not sure where you are looking , as you do have a connection on the Qualcomm Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network

    did you try the desktop version ?

    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee or any free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc
     
  5. n_srinath93

    n_srinath93 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    I didn't have antivirus in my PC. Since there is windows defender inbuilt for windows 8, I didn't go for any antivirus.
    You are telling me about desktop version. what is that?
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you should see a desktop icon on the metro screen (windows 8 - apps screen)

    you can launch a different IE version from the desktop

    most pcs are also supplied with a trial version software like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee whats the make and model of the PC - even inn windows 8 - its still supplied on Fuji, HP, Acer,
     
  7. n_srinath93

    n_srinath93 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    actually I have installed the windows 8 on my own. This laptop was given with windows7. It was bought 3years back.
    Do you have any idea on why this "Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected" is coming?
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    is that on the ipconfig /all you are referring to ?

    if so - its other adapters that are not in use

    the wireless connection should be made here
    as its showing an ip address and all the correct information for a connection
     
  9. n_srinath93

    n_srinath93 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    I am able to connect. I am able to access internet in my browser. My only problem is limited access.
    Do you have any idea on how to remove that limited connectivity?
    Actually I am a student. The router is public. All my friends are not having limited connectivity. So, I was bothering.
     
  10. n_srinath93

    n_srinath93 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    I am able to connect. I am able to access internet in my browser. My only problem is limited access.
    Do you have any idea on how to remove that limited connectivity?
    Actually I am a student. The router is public. All my friends are not having limited connectivity. So, I was bothering.
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    did you try this ?
     
  12. n_srinath93

    n_srinath93 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Yeah. But what to do with a different IE version ? I want to remove limited access. Sorry if was not clear.
    Please tell me clearly
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,933
    First Name:
    Terry
    "Limited access" usually means no internet access. You say you have internet access. Wayne is trying to get a handle on what works and what doesn't work. IE10 has bugs. The Modern UI version of IE10 is far worse. So, at least try the desktop version of IE10.

    If that gives you trouble please give an example of a site you can access with it and one that you cannot access.
     
  14. n_srinath93

    n_srinath93 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks for clearing some things. I am able to access all the websites even though it is showing limited connectivity. But I am not able to access stores and other things that were given with windows 8.
    Previously I am able to access them when it didn't show limited. But now I am not able to access them
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,933
    First Name:
    Terry
    Sorry, but I am confused. Can you give a couple examples of the "stores and other things" that you cannot access? And what the exact error messages are?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1090892

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice