Limited Access to Wireless Please Help

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

golferguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
220
Hey everybody! I attempt to log onto my parent's (golferguy) wireless network. It says under view your active networks: unidentified network (public network). Access type: No network access Connections: has the correct network name. When I click on hidden icons, it says that I have full reception but it says limited access.
I emailed my dad, and he said to look in the network details. He Ggoogled problem and we both found:

my autoconfiguration IPv4 starts with 169 not 192 like his. Also, the subnet masks are different. Finally, I have no info in the IPv4 default Gateway, IPv4 DNS Server, and IPv4 WINS Server. His does. Please help.

Golferguy's intelligent yet computer illiterate daughter:D

Happy Thanksgiving!!
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,423
Delete your wireless profile and try again.

If that doesn't work then disable encryption on the router (and make sure MAC Address filtering is disabled) and try to connect. If successful you can probably re-enable encryption and reconnect. If still unsuccessful ...

Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector and show ...

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

[Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

golferguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
220
Hey TerryNet! Golferguy here. My son has the exact same issue with his laptop. Ours are working fine. The router is a Linksys E3000. I just accessed the routers IP address and have the Cisco setup page open. Found the Wireless MAC Filter it is disabled. How do we delete her profile? Also, where do I find encryption for the router? Please be patient with me this is pretty daunting to me.

Thanks

Golferguy
 

golferguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
220
TerryNet, Must sign off for the night. Early to work. Found a video on how to remove the wireless profile/network. Will try tomorrow to remove and try again as you suggest. Will post the result tomorrow. Thanks!

Golferguy
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,423
Router's encryption setting is usually in the Wireless section and called Encryption or Security Mode.
 

golferguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
220
TerryNet, I'll give it a look asap and will post what I see. I deleted the network from my daughter's list and attempted to reconnect. No Go. Both kids said the wireless at thier apartments works fine. Just on ours. Does the fact that the IP address starts with 169 on their computers mean anything? Thanks!

Golferguy
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,423
Does the fact that the IP address starts with 169 on their computers mean anything?
Yes, it means no Dhcp server responded to a request for an IP configuration; probably an encryption issue.
 

golferguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
220
TerryNet, must take kids back to college tonight. Won't have the offending computers available for a bit. I will check the router's encryption setting, when I get back tomorrow in the AM, as you suggested and will post the results. Thanks for being patient.

Golferguy
 

golferguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
220
TerryNet, apologies for delayed response. Under Wireless-Wireless Security it says WPA2/WPA Mixed for both 2.4GHz and 6GHz is selected. I believe I saw on my kids computers they were set for WPA2 Personal. The choices I have are:
WPA2/WPA Mixed
WPA2 Personal
WPA Personal
WEP
Radius
Disabled

Any other info you need please let me know. Obviously, I can change router settings now. However, the earliest I can make changes on their computers could be this weekend. Thanks.

Golferguy
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,423
Set the encryption to 'Disabled,' but no sense doing that until you're ready to test the computer(s). See post # 2.
 

golferguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
220
TerryNet, Will that cause my network to be unsecured? Definitely don't want to go down that road. Thanks.

Golferguy
 

golferguy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2004
Messages
220
TerryNet, unfortunately, I won't be able to run the checks until the 17th at the earliest. Computers are needed for finals. I'll post the results of your suggestions asap. Thanks!

Golferguy
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top