1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Limited Connection

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jaaespinoza, Mar 9, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jaaespinoza

    jaaespinoza Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Hello all,

    I have been having problems with my wifi connection on my Toshiba Satellite laptop, ever since I bought it from an Office Depot.

    What happens is I'll be using the internet, no problem, then suddenly it will be a limited connection, and I cannot access anything. Sometimes it will only happen for a few seconds and then goes back to normal, but sometimes I have to disconnect from the network, forget the connection, then reconnect.

    I am fairly certain that the wifi or the router are not to blame, as I have changed providers twice believing that the ISP was the problem, and I have received updated routers as well, but I keep experiencing the same limited connection. I have restarted the router numerous times and changed the router settings to every possible combination I could think of to no avail.

    I have updated and reinstalled the drivers multiple times, and I have disabled TCP /IPv6 thinking that could be a problem. (This last "solution" worked for several days, and I had no disconnections from the network, but just today I've encountered the problem twice.)

    I tried calling both Microsoft and Toshiba, and they both told me that it was a software issue and that I needed to subscribe to their annual services in order to receive troubleshooting help.

    Any advice is greatly appreciated.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    quite lot follows

    do a tcp/ip reset

    would you post the following tests ( ipconfig /all & Three PING test ) when the internet is working OK, and then repeat ALL the tests when the internet disconnects.
    Make sure you also indicate on the reply which tests are for what condition.

    also can we see an xirrus screen shot

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista - Windows 7 - Windows 8 and Windows 10

    For Windows Vista through to Windows 10
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):​

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    • Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter
    • Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter
    • Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter
    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):
    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied
    This often occurs with windows 8

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
    also the link has a Microsoft Fix it , which will do the above for you

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the information above those entries

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/open-an-elevated-command-prompt-in-windows-8/
    Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ): ​

    In the command prompt window that opens

    Type the following command
    Ping {then a space and then add the number that is shown against the item labelled "default gateway" shown in the results from the ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 98.139.183.24
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste



    if you see on the results a
    "general Failure"
    This sometimes means a firewall issue
    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee or any free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file to the faulty PC and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

    http://go.pardot.com/l/66982/2015-01-26/2361i
    enter you details
    Download this file "DOWNLOAD WI-FI INSPECTOR Vx.xx "
    ( the site now appears to allow webbased emails like gmail, hotmail, outlook and yahoo now )

    There is also a xirrus gadget, But that does not have all the fuctionality "DOWNLOAD GADGET Vx.xx

    Alternative links - Use the links below


    http://www.softpedia.com/progDownload/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-Monitor-Download-99109.html

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here
    http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)


    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    To post a screen shot of the active window.

    Windows XP
    Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.

    Vista or Windows 7
    you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/

    Windows 8
    you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
    see here
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/opinion/windows/3415854/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/3405830/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/


    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
     
  3. jaaespinoza

    jaaespinoza Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Hello, I tried resetting the IPv6 and IPv4, but both times I tried I received the "Resetting failed, access is denied" message.
     
  4. jaaespinoza

    jaaespinoza Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    I tried the FixIt from Microsoft, but I am unsure of how to check whether it worked. But I restarted the computer and ran the IP Configuration:


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : JUAN-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 12-10-B3-3F-9E-0C
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Qualcomm Atheros AR9485 Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 30-10-B3-3F-9E-0C
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.10(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, March 9, 2015 9:16:35 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, March 9, 2015 10:16:39 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 209.18.47.61
    209.18.47.62
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : K2-LINE.COM
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C4-54-44-CC-81-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{2C4334A8-0E8C-4865-A625-9074CBE123F0}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:90d7:2c3a:2d28:b3a6:31f7(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2c3a:2d28:b3a6:31f7%8(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 335544320
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1B-9B-AA-52-C4-54-44-CC-81-E0
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
     
  5. jaaespinoza

    jaaespinoza Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=9ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 4ms, Maximum = 9ms, Average = 7ms






    Pinging google.com [216.58.216.14] with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 216.58.216.14: bytes=32 time=24ms TTL=53
    Reply from 216.58.216.14: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=53
    Reply from 216.58.216.14: bytes=32 time=24ms TTL=53

    Ping statistics for 216.58.216.14:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 3, Lost = 1 (25% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 22ms, Maximum = 24ms, Average = 23ms






    Pinging 98.139.183.24 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 98.139.183.24: bytes=32 time=143ms TTL=46
    Reply from 98.139.183.24: bytes=32 time=160ms TTL=46
    Reply from 98.139.183.24: bytes=32 time=176ms TTL=46
    Reply from 98.139.183.24: bytes=32 time=197ms TTL=46

    Ping statistics for 98.139.183.24:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 143ms, Maximum = 197ms, Average = 169ms
     
  6. jaaespinoza

    jaaespinoza Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    I had problems downloading Xirrus... It asked for a business email address which I do not have.
     
  7. CoolBurn

    CoolBurn

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,768
    Change the "Lease" time on the router to at least one day/24 hours.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
  9. jaaespinoza

    jaaespinoza Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    I am running Windows 8.1

    My SSID Is "internet"
     

    Attached Files:

  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you have a slight movement in the graph - any reason why , did you move

    also you may want to change the wireless channel in the router to use channel 11
    as you have a couple of other signals on channel 1
     
  11. jaaespinoza

    jaaespinoza Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    No, I did not move my computer at all.
    Okay, I changed my router to channel 11
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see another xirrus
     
  13. jaaespinoza

    jaaespinoza Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    ...
     

    Attached Files:

  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    hows the connection?
     
  15. jaaespinoza

    jaaespinoza Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    It's still very unstable...
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1144476

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice