1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Limited connectivity/No Internet with Windows 8 - Help please!

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by eenwahs, Jan 1, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. eenwahs

    eenwahs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Hi i've had my new laptop acer v3-571 since October and after a month the internet started going to limited connectivity and not loading anything at all. We've never had this problem with any of the laptops before and it also did it at my uncles house so it's not just my wifi provider. My old laptop (Windows 7) still works perfectly fine and never disconnects or has limited connectivity. I've been looking through various forums and have done the Device manager > Network adapter > Power managment unticking settings which worked perfectly for a few weeks. My laptop then did an acer wifi update and it started going to limited connectivity again.
    I've tried the ipconfig /release" - "ipconfig /renew" on command prompt and that hasn't worked either.
    And also the Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog
    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    I have also made sure I have the most recent driver software.

    Someone please help! :(
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc
     
  3. eenwahs

    eenwahs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Norton 360 - year subscription. I had avast free before I installed that. It did it with both.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
    remove Norton with the removal tool - make sure you know any subscription keys - so you can always re-install
    remove any other virus/security suites and use the removal tools
    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Norton Removal Tool
    I would recommend that you restart the PC and run the removal tool for a second time - I have found instances where the removal tool needs to be run twice to fully remove all traces of norton and symantec from the PC
    https://www-secure.symantec.com/nor...t=Norton Core&pvid=f-core-cur&version=current

    All Versions - The Norton Removal Tool uninstalls all Norton 2010/2009/2008/2007/2006/2005/2004/2003 products, Norton 360 and Norton SystemWorks 12.0 from your computer.
    http://majorgeeks.com/Norton_Removal_Tool_SymNRT_d4749.html

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Uninstall Avast Utility
    http://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility
    Detail on how to Uninstall Avast
    http://support.avast.com/index.php?_m=knowledgebase&_a=viewarticle&kbarticleid=504
     
  5. eenwahs

    eenwahs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Why do I need to uninstall it? It was doing it before we even installed it?
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
    security suites like norton etc cause all sorts of issues - so its best to remove and at least eliminate all those first
     
  7. eenwahs

    eenwahs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Okay uninstalled it :) what now?
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,917
    and avast - so no security suite on at all now - correct ?

    lets see a xirrus screen shot
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/

    if you want to optimise base station position and signal strength / dead spots use
    http://www.chimoosoft.com/products/apgrapher/ which has a graph function to monitor signal
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. stocker340

    stocker340

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    Messages:
    176
    What do you suggest for antivirus If Norton and others are the problem?
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,553
    If <fill in name of security suite or firewall or anti-virus> is, or may be, causing a problem we recommend to uninstall it, run the Removal Tool if one exists for it and then test. Then reinstall it if you desire to continue using it.

    Personally I use the included Windows Defender with Windows 8 and Microsoft Security Essentials with earlier versions of Windows.
     
  11. eenwahs

    eenwahs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Does your internet go off at all with windows 8? how do you get the included windows defender to work? Mine will work for a few days totally fine then just suddenly starts disconnecting again.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1083270