1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

limited connectivity on my wifi network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by danraj, Apr 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. zainu

    zainu

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2000
    Messages:
    179
    You are still not getting any ip address from your dhcp. It's still 169.xxx.xxx. Can u try static ip address to see whether it's able to connect to the router.
     
  2. acsii

    acsii

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    do all these with the cable connected Danraj


    1. Go to Start -> All Programs -> Accessories -> Command Prompt
      (Vista users will have to right click "Command Prompt" and run it as administrator)
    2. A black box will appear. Type in: ipconfig /release
    3. After it is done releasing. Type in: ipconfig /renew
    4. This should renew your connection with your gateway.
    5.Flush DNS in Microsoft Windows
    6.In Microsoft Windows, you can use the command ipconfig /flushdns to flush the DNS resolver cache. Open the command prompt and type the following:
    7.C:\>ipconfig /flushdns
    Windows IP Configuration
    Successfully flushed the DNS Resolver Cache.
    8.
    9. The above command will completely flush the DNS, deleting any incorrect entries too. You can also use the command ipconfig /displaydns to view the DNS resolver cache.
    10.
    11.The Address Resolution Protocol (ARP) is very crucial for TCP/IP network communication. If you begin to notice network connectivity problems such as particular web pages not loading or not being able to ping certain IP addresses then clearing your ARP cache is a good place to start.The TCP/IP ARP Command component provides the functionality to add, delete, or display the IP address for Media Access Control (MAC) address translation.
    To flush/Delete the ARP cache in windows Vista/XP/2003/2000 follow this procedure
    Click on Start—>Run—> type the following command click ok
    netsh interface ip delete arpcache
     
  3. danraj

    danraj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    even after connecting d cable i get d same thing as i got earlier for ipconfig /release...
     
  4. acsii

    acsii

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    what type of modem isit
     
  5. danraj

    danraj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    it is a adsl2+ cpe type b modem
    model dna-2012 of a company called iti limited
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/992800