1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

limited connectivity - unidentified network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by tgsid, Dec 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tgsid

    tgsid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    18
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. tgsid

    tgsid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ben-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-92-A3-44-89
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f80e:a814:fed3:49b1%15(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.73.177(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{2EB21305-9B84-4379-86FD-939B044A9
    C38}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    C:\Windows\system32>
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    You've run the stack/WINSOCK repairs and disabled IPv6? IPv6 is not completely disabled.
     
  5. tgsid

    tgsid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    since the factory reset i havent disabled ipv6, but i did the winsock/stack repairs
     
  6. tgsid

    tgsid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    this is after disabling ipv6


    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig /all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ben-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-92-A3-44-89
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.73.177(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{2EB21305-9B84-4379-86FD-939B044A9
    C38}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    C:\Windows\system32>
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    If you are trying to connect to a modem did you remember to power cycle the modem when switching the device connected to it?

    If you are trying to connect to a router make sure that the Dhcp server is enabled and that it has more addresses that it could assign.

    Make sure the cable is good (preferably by testing with another computer connecting to the same port that this computer is trying to).

    If you have a non-Windows firewall or security suite it could be blocking networking.

    By "reset to factory defaults" do you mean Vista? If so, have you installed the latest drivers and obtained the Windows updates?
     
  8. tgsid

    tgsid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    connecting to a modem, not sure what you mean by power cycling. this computers internet works with the same cable. no non windows firewalls( windows firewall is disabled). yes its vista, i used the gateway recovery option - factory system recovery

    edit - no i havent gotten the latest drivers or windows updates, would prefer to avoid the windows updates
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    Power cycling (for a modem) means unplugging it for 30 seconds or so).
     
  10. tgsid

    tgsid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    downloaded the latest drivers and tried to update and it says the latest drivers are already installed, power cycled and tried again, no change
     
  11. tgsid

    tgsid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    i was wondering if this is part of the problems, when i try to renew the ip it gives me this message - an error occured while renewing interface local area connection : unable to contact your DHCP server. request has timed out.
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    "unable to contact your DHCP server. request has timed out" is the problem.

    If I have understood you correctly you are connecting directly to a modem (no router involved), you power cycle the modem when switching the device connected to it, you have the latest ethernet driver and you have checked the modem and cable with another computer. If that is all correct then either you have a defective NIC or your ISP is tracking the MAC Address, and will only accept the MAC Address of the other computer that does successfully connect.
     
  13. tgsid

    tgsid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    i got this new NIC a few days ago - rosewill 10/100/1000 mbps pci express lan card rc-401-ex, and it says the same thing

    edit - i have not run through all these steps trying to get it working, as i assumed it wasnt the NIC after seeing the same problem
     
  14. tgsid

    tgsid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    i put in the new NIC again, tried to get it working and had no luck. what would i need to do if its a MAC address issue?
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    Easiest and most convenient would be to get a router; you can clone the working computer's MAC Address to its WAN.

    Or, if you are only going to use one computer you could register its MAC Address with your ISP. Or you may be able to spoof it (assign the "working" number to this other computer).
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1029301

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice