1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

limited connectivity (vista)

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Ehlyah, Dec 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Ehlyah

    Ehlyah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Like so many others, I can't access the internet on my vista laptop. It worked fine one day, then we changed the wifi password and now it's all bollocksed up.

    We've now turned the password back to the original, but to no avail. I've turned the modem/router off for five minutes, then waited two minutes before turning the laptop on again, but that didn't fix it either.

    This is my ipconfig /all

    Host name: Pratdragon
    Primary DNS suffix:
    Node type: Hybrid
    IP Routing enabled: no
    WINS proxy enabled: no

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix:
    Description: Dell wireless 1395 WLAN Mini-card
    Physical adress: -----
    DHCP enabled: Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled: Yes
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address: 169.254.209.205 (Preferred)
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway:
    NetBIOS over Tcpip: enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media state: Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix:
    Description: Marvell Yukon 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller
    Physical adress: -----
    DHCP enabled: No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled: Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area connection* 6:
    Media state: Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix:
    Description: isatap.{C1CB1F5A-2D71-4B1D-89BD-AD67E5BB18BF}
    Physical adress: -----
    DHCP enabled: No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled: Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area connection* 7:
    Media state: Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix:
    Description: Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical adress: -----
    DHCP enabled: No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled: Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area connection* 11:
    Media state: Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix:
    Description: isatap.{0622B28D-2A82-4598-8E73-4E0270726}
    Physical adress: -----
    DHCP enabled: No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled: Yes
     
  2. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Hi:Let's do two things to see if we can get off the ground here.
    Firstly,have you disabled encryption completely to see if that changes the issue ?

    Stack repair for XP and Vista.
    Courtesy of Johnwill of the Networking forum.

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows Vista.

    Start, All Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.


    And

    Obtain dns for Vista:

    Configure TCP/IP settings

    1. Click on the Start button and then Control Panel.
    2. Click on Network and Internet.
    3. Click on Network and Sharing Center.
    4. From the left-hand menu select Manage Network Connections.
    5. Right click on the Local Area Connection icon.
    6. Click on the Properties button.
    7. Click on Internet Protocol Version 6 (TCP/IPv6) and click on Properties.
    8. Select Obtain IP address automatically and Obtain DNS server automatically.
    9. Click on Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/Ipv4) and click on Properties.
    10. Select Obtain IP address automatically and Obtain DNS server automatically.
    11. Click the Advanced button.
    12. Click on the WINS tab and set NETBIOS setting to Default.
    13. Click OK till all the windows are closed.
    14. Click Apply on the last windows and close it.
    15. You should be now connected to the network.
    If these don't do it we will need some additional info..
     
  3. Ehlyah

    Ehlyah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    All the command prompt things went fine, no errors. Rebooted, did the obtain dns things. The only thing I had to change was the "automatically obtain" in IPv4.

    But.

    Still no connection.

    Can't right now try to turn off the encryption as I lack the password to the router (I'll try and get hold of it later).

    What other information would you need?
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Try a wired connection and see if that connects.

    If not, then try booting in Safe Mode with Networking and see if the wired connection works.
     
  5. Ehlyah

    Ehlyah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    I'm rocking a wired connection (without having to go into safe mode).

    Any way to transfer this success to wireless? I can't keep doing this as the moder/router is hardly in a convenient place (someone else's bedroom).
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, since a wired connection works, my guess is encryption issues.

    Remove ALL the stored wireless network profiles and search for the network. Make SURE you enter the correct encryption key. See if that changes anything.

    If not, I'd remove the encryption from the router to see if you can connect that way. If that connects, we'll try to get encryption working again.
     
  7. Ehlyah

    Ehlyah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    I'm sure I've been entering the right encryption, but I'll check again or talk to the admin about changing/removing. It's about 10pm here so I don't think much'll happen tonight.
     
  8. Ehlyah

    Ehlyah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Turned encryption off, now connected wirelessly.

    Would vista be better about WPA encryption or would that have the same effect as WEP?
     
  9. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    As a security measure,wpa is a much better safeguard than wep.
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    In addition, WPA is normally easier to get working. WEP has HEX or passphrase options, and they don't always works as intended.
     
  11. Ehlyah

    Ehlyah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Alright, so we'll be setting up a WPA. Anything I need to watch or keep in mind in order to keep it working for vista?
     
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Nothing special, it should work normally with Vista without any issue.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/884915

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice