Limited Connectivity with strong wireless signal

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Chandler21

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
4
I am getting a strong wireless signal, but see Limted or no Connectivity from my network. How do I get connected? I am using an older Dell Inspiron machine to try to connect to a network that my newer laptop can successfully connect to?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,837
What is the brand and model of your router? What encryption are you using?

Disable encryption and MAC Address filtering on the router and try to connect. If successful you can probably re-enable encryption and reconnect. If unsuccessful please show ...

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

[Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

Chandler21

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
4
The MAC filter is disabled. The encryption is WEP (I'm not sure how to disable that) with 64 bit.

When I capture the IP information this is what I have:

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description............................ : NETGEAR RangeMax (TM) Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter WPN111
Physical Address.................... : 00-22-3F-99-49-9B
Dhcp Enabled ....................... : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled ...... : Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address .. : 169.254.113.105
Subnet Mask ....................... : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway .................. :
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,837
The encryption is WEP (I'm not sure how to disable that) with 64 bit.
Probably the setting is called Encryption mode or Security mode and one of the choices should be 'off' or 'none' or 'disabled.' If you are using an ascii passcode instead of a HEX key be aware that not all devices translate the passcode the same way.
 

Chandler21

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
4
I disabled all security, creating an open network, and still the same issue....the signal is excellent, it connects, but then says "limited or no connectivity." Any other suggestions?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,837
Make sure you have the latest driver from Netgear's web site.

If this is Windows XP what wireless utility (XP's WZC? Netgear's? Computer manufacturer's?) are you using and are you sure not other one is running?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top