1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

limited or no connectivity error

Discussion in 'Networking' started by cojeh, Jan 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cojeh

cojeh Thread Starter

Hi I hope someone can help me...

Been away for 6 weeks and I come back and my internet has stopped working. I am connected to an ethernet LAN through a linksys router and get the error of limited or no connectivity. I'm not an expert on this but i think the dhcp is not working - its just assigning me a 169. ip address and no defualt gateway or dns server.

I'm fairly convinced its something to do with the nic settings because a) i have 3 other computers working fine on the network, 2 using ethernet connection and 1 wirelessly connected, b) i have used the LAN port thats not working for my PC with a laptop and it works fine and c) the wireless connection works fine on the PC in question.

I have also tried a static IP on the ethernet connection to avail...

Any ideas? Thanks in advance. Jon.

2. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator

First stop, try a new cable, and try one of the known working ports on the router. If that fails, try resetting the TCP/IP stack.

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

For these commands, Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

3. cojeh

cojeh Thread Starter