1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Limited or no connectivity in Windows 8

Discussion in 'Networking' started by christadwani, Dec 16, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. christadwani

    christadwani Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    192
    I bought an Acer laptop running on Windows 8, but the internet would disconnect every few minutes and it would say no internet connectivity or limited connectivity.
    I replaced the PC with an other one and I had the same problem.
    so I returned the PC and bought a Packard Bell running on windows 8 as well, but again the same problem.
    I do have other computers in my household working fine (not windows 8).
    What can I do to check what's wrong?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,945
    sounds like an issue with windows 8 and your router - as you have tried 3 windows 8 PCs and your other PCs work with wireless OK
    BUT lets try a few things

    1) Make and exact model of the PC
    2) Does it work when connected to the router by cable OK
    3) Run xirrus and post a screen shot
    4) log into the router and remove the wireless security and connect - if that works OK - Log back into the router and put the Security on again
    5) Goto the PC manufacturers web support site and load the latest driver
    6) goto device manager and right click on the adapter and uninstall/remove and then restart the PC and let windows re-detect the hardware and reinstall the driver
    7) What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc
    8) would you post the following tests when the internet is working OK, and then repeat ALL the tests when the internet disconnects.

    Make sure you also indicate on the reply which tests are for what condition.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    This should also work for windows 8
    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> type CMD to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    For Windows 8
    to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

    Type the following command
    Ping {then a space and then add the number that is shown against the item labelled "default gateway" shown in the results from the ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/

    if you want to optimise base station position and signal strength / dead spots use
    http://www.chimoosoft.com/products/apgrapher/ which has a graph function to monitor signal
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. christadwani

    christadwani Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    192
    BEFORE U START READING YOU SHOULD KNOW THAT THE INTERNET DISCONNECTS LESS WHEN EVERYONE IS ASLEEP (THE INTERNET IS LESS USED)

    1) I have a : Packard Bell EasyNote TE11HC-53216g32Mnks.
    2) Yes it does work fine when connected to a cable, but I can't be 100% sure.
    3) Posted a screen shot.
    4) I can't mess with my router for many reasons but as I have at least 12 machines working fine.
    5) the latest driver is installed.
    6) removed and reinstalled driver.
    7)Norton internet security (still installed)
    8)
    Tests Done while online

    C:\Users\Christ>ipconfig /all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Studio
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : lan
    Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 11:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 0A-3E-8E-17-38-51
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : lan
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11n Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 08-3E-8E-17-38-51
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5d15:4b26:2164:7f4c%13(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.86(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, December 17, 2012 4:24:18 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, December 17, 2012 10:24:16 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 319307406
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-17-CF-45-6B-B8-88-E3-57-CD-53
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Ethernet adapter Ethernet:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : SWDL.WDS
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : B8-88-E3-57-CD-53
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.lan:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : lan
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fd:2c70:3a13:262f:36d2(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2c70:3a13:262f:36d2%17(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    ______________________________________

    Ping Test 1
    C:\Windows\system32>Ping 192.168.1.1
    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 1ms

    Ping Test 2
    C:\Windows\system32>Ping google.com
    Pinging google.com [173.194.32.6] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 173.194.32.6: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=52
    Reply from 173.194.32.6: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=53
    Reply from 173.194.32.6: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=52
    Reply from 173.194.32.6: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=53
    Ping statistics for 173.194.32.6:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 5ms, Maximum = 7ms, Average = 6ms

    Ping Test 3
    C:\Windows\system32>Ping 209.183.226.152
    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=107ms TTL=44
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=106ms TTL=44
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=106ms TTL=44
    Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=106ms TTL=44
    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 106ms, Maximum = 107ms, Average = 106ms7
    __________________________________________________
    I WILL RUN THE OTHER TESTS WHEN THE CONNECTION DROPS
     

    Attached Files:

  4. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,945
    so all devices disconnect - not just the windows 8 PC
    and these q2 machines never disconnect - is that correct

    If not, then would you provide
    Make and model of the router and if separate the modem
    the status of the lights on the router and modem when working and repeat when not working

    that can cause issues - remove using the norton removal tool - see below

    how far away from the router are you ?? -61 if fluctuating could be the cause - leave xirrus running so we can see the graph when disconnects

    make and model of the router - is the modem separate
    and why can you not mess with the router ? is it yours ?

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    Norton Removal Tool
    I would recommend that you restart the PC and run the removal tool for a second time - I have found instances where the removal tool needs to be run twice to fully remove all traces of norton and symantec from the PC
    https://www-secure.symantec.com/nor...t=Norton Core&pvid=f-core-cur&version=current

    All Versions - The Norton Removal Tool uninstalls all Norton 2010/2009/2008/2007/2006/2005/2004/2003 products, Norton 360 and Norton SystemWorks 12.0 from your computer.
    http://majorgeeks.com/Norton_Removal_Tool_SymNRT_d4749.html

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. christadwani

    christadwani Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    192
    The Modem Lights Never Change and No ONLY WINDOWS 8 disconnects.
    But what I meant is that the pressure on the modem could be the reason although it only affects me.
    The modem and router are not separate
     
  6. christadwani

    christadwani Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    192
    I removed Norton twice to make sure
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,945
    can you answer the questions from previous post please

    -----
    does it work perfectly when others are not connected - try stopping a few for a while and see what happens
     
  8. christadwani

    christadwani Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    192
    i'm 3-6 meters away (full signal)
    i did stop a few and i didn't have any problems today
    and i did notice that the more machines are being used the faster my PC disconnects
    the modem (router) is mine but i'm not the only owner.
    and i have a past in messing up router settings
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,945
    sounds like a volume issue maybe
    strange it kicks your PC off
    I would suggest a firmware update - or a reset to factory defaults - but that may not be where you want to go

    any particular machine
     
  10. christadwani

    christadwani Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    192
    actually yes, a Toshiba Qosmio laptop
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,945
    try updating the wireless driver on that PC

    also what IP address is it using ?
     
  12. christadwani

    christadwani Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    192
    1)the driver is up to date
    2)i'm not sure but why?
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,945
    if its the same as yours , then there will be a conflict and you will be disconnected
     
  14. christadwani

    christadwani Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    192
  15. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,945
    no thats the public IP that everyone would have the same IP

    its the router IP address 192.168.x.x
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1081231