1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Limited or No Connectivity

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Jaeniki, Dec 31, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jaeniki

    Jaeniki Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Hi,

    I'm trying to setup a router in my moms house. She has DSL and when the box is connected directly to her computer everything works fine. However, if I connect the router her computer reads "Limited or No
    Connectivity". I can connect to the router wired and wirelessly with my laptop, phone, and even her streaming media box without any problems. Can anyone shoot me some troubleshooting ideas? I ran IP config and i'm not geting a default gateway address.

    thanks in advance.
     
  2. Jaeniki

    Jaeniki Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Here are the results of ipconfig with the compter connected directly to the DSL box and below that are the results when connected through the router.

    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . :
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connecti
    on
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1C-C0-90-CC-FF
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.31.250
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.252.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.28.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.28.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 209.94.172.166
    209.94.172.167
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, December 31, 2012 5:23:55 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 01, 2013 5:23:55 PM

    -------------------------Connected to router----------------------------------

    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . :
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connecti
    on
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1C-C0-90-CC-FF
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.144.75
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you get internet access OK with these devices

    because the IPs you posted show the modem as a router - so you are connecting a router to a router - so surprised its working with those other devices - also the IPS look wrong , but need to know a little more about the DSL Box - make and model - who is the ISP
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,941
    First Name:
    Terry
    May be something peculiar to just the (new) router and PC, such as defective router LAN port, defective cable between them, firewall blocking whatever LAN subnet the router is using or failure to auto sync a speed & duplex setting. For the last one, in Device Manager right click the ethernet - Properties - Advanced tab - for the 'Speed & Duplex' property try different values beginning with 100 Mbps full duplex and 10 Mbps full duplex.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1083201

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice