1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

limited or no connectivity

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by cmptrsrhard2fix, Jan 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cmptrsrhard2fix

    cmptrsrhard2fix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    I have a Dell PC and laptop both running Vista. Along with the system is a Linksys router which provides WIFI for the laptop. The package has worked flawlessly for years until two days ago when my laptop would no longer connect to the internet. The message is "this computer has limited or no connectivity".
    My troubleshooting included:
    unpluging router for 30 seconds and retry
    pluging a network cable from router to computer
    other misc things that did not work

    Here is some information I hope will help you knowledgeable people:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Jeff>pingwebsite.com
    'pingwebsite.com' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Users\Jeff>



    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Jeff>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Jeff-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : colubris.lan

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1390 WLAN Mini-Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-8C-37-4B-A3
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : colubris.lan
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Fast Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1C-23-FB-91-A0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.100.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled


    Is it unusual that I have NO "default gateway" listed?

    Please help, I am not very computer literate.:confused:
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,256
    First Name:
    Terry
    Try a dynamic connection with ethernet.

    To configure a dynamic IP address on your Windows Vista or 7 computer:

    1. Click Start.
    2. Select Network, then Network and Sharing Center, and click Manage network connections or Change adapter settings from the list of tasks.
    3. Right click the connection of interest and click Properties.
    4. Select Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4) from the list and click the Properties button.
    5. Select Obtain an IP address automatically.
    6. Select Obtain DNS Server address automatically.
    7. Click OK.
    8. Click Close.
     
  3. Gouthaman

    Gouthaman

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    Check with your ISP. Just call their customer care and I am sure they will be able to help you. Like Terry says, you should first try running 'em in Dynamic. :)
     
  4. cmptrsrhard2fix

    cmptrsrhard2fix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thank you for your prompt reply to my frustrating issue. Unfortunately it did not work. Any other ideas?
    Jeff
     
  5. Gouthaman

    Gouthaman

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    Is your laptop able to connect to the internet via ethernet (wired connection)?
     
  6. cmptrsrhard2fix

    cmptrsrhard2fix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    No, that doesn't work either (connecting by cable). The PC works fine on the internet, just not the laptop.
     
  7. Gouthaman

    Gouthaman

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    Okay. I think, it's time to open up your laptop. I suspect issues with your NIC(s).
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,256
    First Name:
    Terry
    What, if any, non-Windows security application(s) do, or did, you have on the machine?

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  9. cmptrsrhard2fix

    cmptrsrhard2fix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    I'm sorry, I am not sure what you are asking about with "non-windows security applications". I have Pc Tools spyware Doctor, Avast antivirus, and Ad-Aware.
    I hope this helps.
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,256
    First Name:
    Terry
    Those don't include a firewall component (as far as I know), so should not be causing these problems.

    Try to connect by ethernet and wireless and show again ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  11. cmptrsrhard2fix

    cmptrsrhard2fix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    7

    I hope this helps... Just so you know, my router is a Linksys WRT54G version 2. Not sure that is relevant, but I have had it a long time.
    Thanks again for the help,
    Jeff


    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]

    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Jeff>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Jeff-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1390 WLAN Mini-Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-8C-37-4B-A3
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.131.66(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Fast Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1C-23-FB-91-A0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Jeff>
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,256
    First Name:
    Terry
    The Media disconnected indicates a defective cable or NIC.

    You said that you changed to a dynamic connection but it is still showing as static. That is likely caused by one of your anti-spyware programs. Uninstall them for now. And then try to set the ethernet to dynamic again.
     
  13. Gouthaman

    Gouthaman

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    I still suspect a problem with your NIC. It's also worth checking your ethernet cable's ends. :)
     
  14. cmptrsrhard2fix

    cmptrsrhard2fix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    I uninstalled Lavasoft Ad-Adware and Spyware Doctor 6.0 Pc Tools. Then I redid the steps you gave me on the 25th. Still no joy. Should I put them back on again? What is NIC?
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,256
    First Name:
    Terry
    NIC is Network Interface Card and in your case is referring to the Broadcom NetLink (TM) Fast Ethernet and to the Dell Wireless 1390 WLAN Mini-Card.

    With the inability to change the former to dynamic and it showing Media disconnected (assuming you've checked the cable) I have to agree with Gouthaman.

    For the wireless if your network is secured disable the router's encryption and try to connect. If successful you can probably re-enable encryption and reconnect.

    If you still cannot connect to an unsecured network (and you should try on another network--a friend's or a public hotspot) then maybe that NIC has also failed, or maybe the NICs are OK and there is a motherboard defect.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - limited connectivity
  1. TomRadas
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    324
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/976939

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice