1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Limiting speed on certain computers on a network?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by newtonetworks, Jul 31, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. newtonetworks

    newtonetworks Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Hi, I have a router and I use two computers. Right now they are sharing internet connection but I want one computer to have priority over the other.

    Is there a program that can be installled on only one computer that will force the router to work in such a manner that one computer gets this much kbps while the other gets something else?
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You probably need something like the Linksys RT042 router with QoS.
     
  3. newtonetworks

    newtonetworks Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    That router seems to be just the right router for the job.

    I don't suppose there are any software out there that will allow you to do the same thing?
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    There is software, but not nearly as effective as a router. Besides, the software has to be installed on the machine you want to limit. If I had this problem, I'd go for the hardware solution. :)
     
  5. newtonetworks

    newtonetworks Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Tell me more about this program please. I'd like to test this first and then get a router with qos if that program isn't effective.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
  7. newtonetworks

    newtonetworks Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    I tried netlimiter and you're right. It wasn't as effective as I thought it should be. I'll get a router with qos next week. Thanks for the help JohnWill.
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You're welcome. :)
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/488189

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice