1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Lines on Desktop, half of screen is white but not permanent

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by lightwithin7, Aug 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lightwithin7

    lightwithin7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    I have a problem with my Windows XP Desktop, there are blue lines on the top of the screen and the task bar was missing but I managed to pull it up from the bottom so its back again.
    Sometimes half of the screen goes white and then normal. When it does go back to normal the top part where the line is crossed is working but the bottom half is not, like its frozen there. The mouse cursor moves really slowly.
    However for a little bit the screen goes normal (although the blue line is still flickering) and I can open IE.

    Please help? I have no idea what's happening.
     
  2. SUEOHIO

    SUEOHIO SUE

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,752
    It sounds to me that its possibly a problem with the monitor or the graphics or video cards or drivers.
     
  3. lightwithin7

    lightwithin7 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thank you for replying back!
    What should I do to solve this problem though?
    Do I need to change the monitor, graphics, video card or driver? Or is there a way to click inside of the desktop screen? (It works momentarily.)
     
  4. SUEOHIO

    SUEOHIO SUE

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,752
    Your welcome.You might want to try another monitor if you have a spare or can borrow one. if it works ok then id say its the monitor and would need replaced. if it does it to another monitor then its a graphics or video card or driver problem.i would start with changing the monitor and go from there.i dont think theres a way to click inside the desktop screen not that ive heard of anyway. but if there is someone will be along im sure to correct me.
     
  5. Elff

    Elff

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Hi,
    have you tried unplugging and plugging back power cable of the screen?

    If that doesn't help, have you checked if there are any drivers that you are missing? When you go to properties of My computer and click on Hardware tab and Device manager, do you see any yellow exclamation marks next to any of the device?

    Next thing I would do is swapping screen, if you can borrow from someone, as it may be a hardware problem as well.

    By the way.. what does "click inside of the desktop screen" mean? ^^

    Regards
    Elwira
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1013773