1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Linking files bet. Excel & Word

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Carol1247, Jan 16, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Carol1247

    Carol1247 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    72
    First Name:
    Carol
    My problem is that when I link an Excel file with Word, I get a graph with grid lines behind it. How can I get rid of these grid lines? I'm not referring to the grid lines within the graph itself, but the grid lines behind the graph. It looks like a nice graph siting on an Excel spreadsheet with the cells behind it. I've fiddled around with it and gotten the cells to "shrink around it", but you can still see the cells around the edges of the graph.

    I'd send the file, but this system wouldn't take a .xls file. If someone wants to look at my problem graph, I'd be happy to email the file.

    Thanks!
     
  2. jbcalg

    jbcalg

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,056
    if the excel graph has gridlines, so will the linked one showing in word

    in excel, go to chart options on the chart menu, uncheck the gridlines option

    possibly - you may have to do a similar thing in word:
    table menu, show gridlines

    edit: ...and welcome to TSG ;)
     
  3. Carol1247

    Carol1247 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    72
    First Name:
    Carol
    Thanks for the reply, JB. Always nice to hear from a Canadian.

    I didn't make my post clear enough, I now realize. It's the grid lines BEHIND the graph that I'm trying to get rid of. Not the ones within the graph itself.
     
  4. XL Guru

    XL Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,702
    There are so many ways to link. How are you doing this?

    Rgds,
    Andy
     
  5. jbcalg

    jbcalg

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,056
    ok, i'm confused now ;)

    i just copy/paste special, linked a chart from excel to word
    - no gridlines no matter what i do, in either word or excel
    (using office xp)

    so i can't 'see' what you mean

    can you post a screen shot (a little one?)
    alt+print screen or just print screen
    paste into an image editor (jpg format)
    crop it for size but so the gridlines can still be seen
    use the attach file in the response box area

    edit: good point XL, info first, complications second :)
     
  6. XL Guru

    XL Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,702
    >> good point XL

    You probably covered it anyway. Suspect OP used Insert -- Object -- Create from File route. Paste special -- paste link should cover it. But you need to be careful to select the whole chart (in Excel), ie: click near a border so that Chart Area shows up in the Name Box.

    Rgds,
    Andy
     
  7. Carol1247

    Carol1247 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    72
    First Name:
    Carol
    Yes, Andy, I have been using: Insert -- Object -- Create from File route.

    I tried to copy and paste special, but that method doesn't let me change the information in Excel and have it automatically update in Word.

    Here's a JPEG version of my graph with grid lines behind it. Hope you can see it!
     

    Attached Files:

  8. jbcalg

    jbcalg

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,056
    yes, can see it now, and able to duplicate it by selecting a range of cells greater thean the chart area and then using copy/paste

    you don't want to do that :)

    as XL suggests:
    click on outside border of chart in excel
    (you'll know by then right clicking and getting format chart area as the top choice - clicking inside the chart gives you fewer options when you right click afterwards)
    r-click, copy
    go to word doc
    click where you want the chart
    edit, paste special, paste link, ok

    changes in the xl sheet/chart will show in word
    you can r-click in word on the chart and get an 'update link' command
     
  9. XL Guru

    XL Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,702
    (Just to be safe) you're so close. You need to select the chart in Excel and copy it. Then in Word, choose Paste Special from the Edit menu. Make sure Paste Link is on.

    Rgds,
    Andy
     
  10. jbcalg

    jbcalg

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,056
    slowpoke :)
     
  11. XL Guru

    XL Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,702
    >> slowpoke

    More often than not. For ex, took me until today to think "that's probly short for Calgary".

    L8rs,
    Andy
     
  12. Carol1247

    Carol1247 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    72
    First Name:
    Carol
    "you can r-click in word on the chart and get an 'update link' command"

    I have office 97 and I don't have "update link" when I r-click. I was hoping to have a "refresh button", but couldn't find that either.

    The copy and paste special looks great, but I can't auto update.
     
  13. Carol1247

    Carol1247 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    72
    First Name:
    Carol
    My brain is turning to mush - I think I'll go out for a run and try again later this afternoon.

    Thanks XL GURU and JBCALG for all your help. I think I'm closer to the solution.
     
  14. jbcalg

    jbcalg

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,056
    XL - yes 'calg' refers to a geographic location :)

    carol:
    no longer have 97 installed but checked on a PC with 2000 on it
    - it doesn't have the update link either but when i change a value on the spreadsheet range, word updated the chart by itself
    - maybe try the paste special, paste link method then change a value or 2 on the spreadsheet, see if word 97 handles it by itself like 2000 does
     
  15. Carol1247

    Carol1247 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    72
    First Name:
    Carol
    Yes, I did what you said: I just copied, pasted special, checked the link box and it worked. I went to Excel and changed some numbers and the chart in Word updated them. Next step is learning how to put chart into PDF in Acrobat.

    Thanks for all your great help!

    Carol
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/195845

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice