Linking two routers

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ixion711

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
2
I have five computers and two routers. One of the routers (US Robotics) is also a modem, the other (DLINK) is a wireless router. The US Robotics router is a new purchase to replace the 2Wire modem/router from SBC that died. I have (hopefully) properly configured the US Robotics modem and plugged three of the four computers into it. They can all see each other and access the internet. The last port is used to plug into the "in" port of the DLINK. The DLINK's configuration has not changed and used to work before I replaced the modem, but now the router does not work. I have set the DHCP to be in two different but consecutive ranges. It is my understanding that since DLINK router is wireless it should be set to enable DHCP on it. Both routers have different set IP that are not in each other's range. The US Robotics is set to 192.168.0.1 with a range to 192.168.0.100 and DLINK is set to 192.168.0.101 with a range to 192.168.0.200. Where did I go wrong can someone please help me. Thanks
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,403
Often cascaded (LAN port to WAN port) routers will not work when their LAN subnets are the same. Assigning one of the LANs differently (e.g., 192.168.1.x) will work more often. Unless you need the extra NAT layer the following is better.

JohnWill's procedure for configuring a secondary router as a switch and, optionally, wireless access point follows.

Connecting two SOHO broadband routers together.

Configure the IP address of the secondary router to be in the same subnet as the primary router, but out of the range of the DHCP server in the primary router. For instance DHCP server addresses 192.168.0.2 through 192.168.0.100, I'd assign the secondary router 192.168.0.254 as it's IP address.

Disable the DHCP server in the secondary router.

Setup the wireless section just the way you would if it was the primary router.

Connect from the primary router's LAN port to one of the LAN ports on the secondary router. If there is no uplink port and neither of the routers have auto-sensing ports, use a cross-over cable. Leave the WAN port unconnected!
 

ixion711

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 9, 2007
Messages
2
Thanks, when I read this post I thought that I should disable the DHCP on the second router, until I found another post suggesting to leave it enabled if the second router is wireless. What perplexes me JohnWill's solution is when he advises to: Leave the WAN port unconnected! How would you connect to the internet then?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,403
The same way as if you connected a computer directly to the primary router. Perhaps you didn't realize that "configuring a secondary router as a switch and, optionally, wireless access point" is functionally the same as opening up the primary router and adding some more ethernet LAN ports and, optionally, a radio.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Do NOT leave two DHCP servers running, you'll have mountains of problems that way!
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
ixion711 said:
Thanks, when I read this post I thought that I should disable the DHCP on the second router, until I found another post suggesting to leave it enabled if the second router is wireless. What perplexes me JohnWill's solution is when he advises to: Leave the WAN port unconnected! How would you connect to the internet then?
My network has two routers setup as JohnWill suggests and it works. No need to try anything different.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top