1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Links and internet explorer 6

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by KB OzTech, Sep 28, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. KB OzTech

KB OzTech Thread Starter

Hi all, this is my first time here. My situation is quite weird but here goes: I'm running windows xp pro with service pak1. When i first installed the operating system, i did not have this problem. Somewhere along the lines, it happened. When i open my outlook express up and look at some email a friend has sent or any legitimate business, i go to click on the blue underlined link and NORMALLY it will bring up the internet explorer window and take me to that web page. In my case, what happens is, i click on the link and the internet explorer window FRAME does appear with the internet explorer title at the very top of the blue title bar and i do see the window flag icon moving in the upper right but the main window area is transparent and i can see my outlook express window behind it and nothing happens. The flag keeps moving like its trying to connect but never does. NOW, second scenario: If i right click on the link in my email and copy and paste it into the address bar of the internet explorer, the page comes up fine and quick like it should. This problem also occurs on some links, but not all, in web pages too. Not necessarily in outlook all the time. I removed internet explorer from add/remove programs, rebooted the computer and tried the same links again. Same thing happens. Of course, if i click on the explorer icon on the desktop to bring up the explorer, alls i get is the properties window, which i knew i would considering i just uninstalled it. I have cleared all cache, checked for viruses using house calls, panda, bit defender, avg antivirus, an