Linksys Wireless router installation

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Counslr2l

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
55
I just purchased a router and card to connect my pc and laptop to the internet via dsl modem. I want the computer hard wired but the laptop wireless. I am concerned about security for the wirreless network and possible back door attacks. Can you offer information on how to make sure the configuration is secure?
Thank you!
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2004
Messages
809
There's 64 and 128 bit WEP encryption for wireless, I'm using 128 bit on a Linksys Wireless G for quite a while now with no trouble with neighbors, I also reccomend LANGuard which shows who is/has been connected to the network to make sure you have no intruders, it also has some network utilities.
 

Counslr2l

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
55
Are these things i need to purchase or that already come with the Linksys router or a configuration i need to set?
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
14,681
Your Linksys router should support either 64 or 128 bit encryption. Use the highest one your hardware supports. Change the default SSID of the router, and turn off SSID broadcasting. The router probably includes a firewall - make sure its turned on. Detailed instructions in the linksys manual or at linksys.com (y)
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2004
Messages
809
LANGuard is a seperate program, which you dont need to buy if you dont want to its not essential. WEP encryption comes with your router yes, it secures your data and sends it out to the other computers, youll see it ask you which to use during setup
 

Counslr2l

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
55
Ok, so your advice was right on the money and I hooked up the router via ethernet cable to my desktop PC, I read the entire manual, full day effort and get internet via cable modem just fine. I, as well, installed the notebook wireless card. They both say they are working according to Device manager, though, the laptop says 'cannot associate with AP'. At this point, I am all over the internet looking for what AP is and thinking that the guy at Best Buy has sent me home with everything i need to connect a wired and wireless unit seeing that he says he installs them. So at this point i don't know if I'm missing hardware or if I just am not configuring the software correctly.

I changed the default SSID, turned off broadcast, set up WEP encryption w/128 bit, set up a profile on the laptop with the same SSID and WEP codes which it seems to be recognizing the router at 100% but will not connect.


HELP?
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2004
Messages
809
AP stands for access point I would assume, I'm not much of a network guy, you might want to get some help from the guys in the network forum they should know more to help you.
 

Counslr2l

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
55
Thanks,
I found on the box that it has a built-in access point. Through the web-site I configured less secure and was able to connect but no internet. Now, my host PC is saying it doesn't have hosting capabilities. Anyway, Thank You for your help I'll move to the networking forum.
Hayley
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top