Linksys WRT45G Crashes On Certain Websites.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

B-Subs-Me

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 8, 2007
Messages
173
I have a Linksys WRT45G router. Whenever I use IE, or browse CERTAIN WEBSITES, it crashes. Some websites crash it faster than others, it's really weird. Here's a list of the websites that crash it:
bestbuy.com
facebook.com
icanhascheezburger.com
yahoomail.com-clicking on inbox is an INSTANT crash. I can wait till the network comes back up again and click on it all day long, and it will always INSTANTLY crash my wireless connection.

I've showed a few people I know and they have no clue what it could be. I've pretty extensively searched the internet and haven't found another person with my problem.

When I game online, any IM program, or voip program, it works fine all day long.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
1,092
Dude I just went to the site you have linked pandora.com WOW totally awesome way cool thank you very much:) :)

And now to your problem is this what you are referring to?
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/e/ee/Linksys_WRT54G_V1.jpg
or is it possibly your wireless card in the back of your PC?
if it's the router it will probably power cycle or something obvious?
Is that happening?
I have the same router and do not use the wireless feature, and have not heard of this before now.
Have you tried using a LAN cable to see if it still crashes your router?
 

B-Subs-Me

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 8, 2007
Messages
173
Yes, that's my router (it looks slightly different). I have a wireless adapter in the back of my pc, yes which is in a different room.
A) I Can't run cables in here, and
B) It's a wireless router; I don't think wires can be run to and from it.

At LAN parties, someone plugs something in to the back of my computer and BAM. I have fast, flawless internet. I don't do it so I don't know what he plugged in or whatever, all I know is that he had a linksys wired router, so yes, the websites work when I'm wired.

The odd thing is that IE is the only thing that crashes me. It makes no sense.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
1,092
Is the router that I showed you a picture of power cycling?????
and the device that is in the back of your PC, IS NOT called a router...

This is whats in the back of your PC;
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&...cd=1&q=wireless+network+card+pictures&spell=1
****Note the name of the device...
wireless network card
that is probably what is giving you grief NOT the Router it self.

*Why not use a different browser, Firefox or Opera are much better. and they have a bazillion extensions to tweak them :)
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
Some things you can try here.

  1. For wireless connections, change the channel on the router, I like channels 1, 6, and 11 in the US.
  2. For wireless connections, try moving either the wireless router/AP or the wireless computer. Even a couple of feet will sometimes make a big difference.
  3. Update the firmware to the latest version available on the manufacturer's site.
  4. Reset the router to factory defaults and reconfigure.

Many times these measures will resolve a lot of intermittent issues.
 

B-Subs-Me

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 8, 2007
Messages
173
Thanks for the help. Yes, I have a PCI adapter in the pack of my PC. The router's a few rooms down, but it works fine for most everything besides browsing the internet, which is why this problem doesn't make much sense.

JohnWill - Will do (when I get around to it)

Thanks for the help.

I use safari (speed_hog)
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
1,092
Ok you left that out you said:
Whenever I use IE
if certain browsers work and certain ones don't... that would make me think it is a browser problem not a router problem...

*If I can open TWO different browsers (IE and Safari) at the same time and go to the same site and one works and one doesn't it is not a router issue...
It is a problem with the settings in that browser...

If you don't know how to set up the browser to work use the one that works :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top