Linksys WRT54G Router Problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

justin1988

Hey helpful people,

I have an old WRT54G router from probably at least 5 years ago, and lately it has been giving me a lot of trouble. My wireless connection will suddenly terminate for no reason, and my laptop will not be able to find any connections, making me have to reset the router, sometimes at least once a day. I power cycle this thing constantly, and updated it to the latest firmware a while ago. Is it just time to get a new one? I'm a college student and really can't afford the nice N router I want, which would be upwards of 100 dollars. Any advice?

This is my router's image: http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/7/7b/WRT54G_v2_Linksys_Router_Digon3.jpg

Again, it has the latest firmware, which is at least 2 years old. I updated it about 3 months ago when I was having the same kind of trouble.

etaf

First Name
Wayne
often updating the firmware on an old router will extend the life slightly - but router do wear out and 5 years i would say its time for a change

the only advantage on a "N" would be the speed and extended coverage in theory, my N router actually did not extend the coverage
Also the speed will only be of benefit when coping across the network - your ISP download speed would probably be the factor to determine the speed
what are you paying the ISP for downlad speed ?

justin1988