1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Linux Default Partition Error at XP SP3

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by HM9408, Dec 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. HM9408

    HM9408 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Hey guys,
    I'm having this problem since two days ago. My computer randomly slowed down, now my CPU is almost always at 100%, windows open slowly, the boot-up is really slow (almost 10 minutes) and get jammed most of the times...
    No virus, checked with ESET Nod32 Business Edition (Legal, of course) and with Malwarebytes' Anti Malware.
    The most curious thing is that whenever I boot up the computer, there's some sort of Error just after the mobo's BIOS loads:

    ----
    VIA Technologies, Inc. VIA VT8237A SATA RAID CDROM BOOT BIOS V1.00
    Copyright (C) VIA Technologies, Inc. All Right reserved.
    237AR100.ROM - FOR RAID

    Scan Devices, Please wait...
    No Raid
    Ctrl0 Chnl0 Master MAXTOR STM3520310RS -SATA mode

    Press <Tab> Key into User Window!

    If you want to install Linux Default Partition RAID driver, please do not use
    OPRON creation operation!

    ----
    I don't really know what does it mean, and I've checked on the BIOS if it's recognizing well the SATA HDD. It works perfectly. What can I do? Any solution will be appreciated. :confused:
     
  2. ViperFan

    ViperFan

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 1999
    Messages:
    156
    Hi!

    I am replying because I see no one else has so far. However, I see that your BIOS is set up for a RAID, but doesn't find any. I am assuming you do not want a RAID setup, so I would suggest going into the BIOS and look for the RAID settings. Switch it to 'No RAID' or NONE under this setting. Hopefully this will fix your slow start up.

    Have a wonderful Christmas holiday!
     
  3. HM9408

    HM9408 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Well thanks ViperFan, I'll try that solution. Happy holidays for you too.
     
  4. HM9408

    HM9408 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Hey,
    that didn't work. Thanks anyway.
    Here are my computer's specs,if you need to know them:
    Windows XP&#8482; SP3 (had to change from Windows Vista&#8482; Business SP1 32 bit because of its problems)
    -CPU: Intel Pentium D 820 2.8GHz [will be upgrading to i7]
    -RAM: 2GB DDR2 Corsair XMS2 (2X1024MB)
    -HDD: 250GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax STM3250820AS
    -VIDEO CARD: ATI Radeon x1650 PRO PCIe x16
    -MB: MSI P4M980M
    -PC CASE: Antec TX635
    -POWER SUPPLY: Stock 350W PS
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/780845