1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Linux for the first time - Which one to choose ?

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by daxia, Feb 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. daxia

daxia Thread Starter

Hi all

I'm starting to dislike microsoft more every day. I was looking forward to using Vista, but I have been hearing so much about microsoft invading your privacy even more, so Im thinking that maybe I should try something else.

I have never used Linux before, so I would like a linux system that is highly compatible with games and programs, and maybe looks something like Windows. I once saw a video on youtube about something called XGL, that looked awesome. Is XGL a linux version and is it any good and is it easy to use ?

(also, I might be a cheap f#¤k, but I would like a version on Linux thats free of charge to use)

Thank you in advance !

2. Gibbs

Gibbs

Hello!

First of all why do you want a Linux that looks like Windows? :confused:

XGL is available for Linux as well as Beryl. All Linux distros are free to download. You can buy them but usually you only get charged the postage and packaging (roughly $10?).

Linux distributions are a different OS to Windows. It isn't meant to be a replacement or like Windows. It will be different and won't do things the same as Windows so don't expect it to.

Linux has LOTS of software and programs, the majority being free. In my personal opinion the majority of them are better then the common Microsoft application (Office etc).